Demonstrates the many ways that torn, crinkled, and smudged bits of paper can be transformed into various shapes and images.
An interactive follow-up to the unique and inspiring Beautiful Oops! art activity book encourages young readers to turn every mistake into something beautiful. The friendly, frolicsome alligator from the original book guides readers through the various folded, crumpled, torn, die-cut, bent, smudged, and lift-the flap spreads, prompting them to see what beautiful art they can make out a material that many would consider trash: Finish the words on a torn piece of paper to make a poem. Turn this ink spill into a piece of art. Rip a picture out of the book, tear it into pieces, and use the scraps to create a new piece of art. The sky is the limit!
Demonstrates that creativity is for everyone and that with a little effort everything can be beautiful.
Andrew's creative adventure unfolds step-by-step through a sequence of flaps and gatefolds that follow his drawings as they evolve in unexpected ways, from a staircase that becomes a dinosaur to a squiggle that morphs into a giant chicken.
A small egg appears to obey commands, until the cracking of the shell and a cheeping sound explain how it is possible, in a text with pull-tabs and a pop-up illustration.
Excited about being "star of the week" at school, Stanley spends a lot of time choosing and preparing his favorite things to share, but becomes discouraged when his classmates make fun of what he likes. 20,000 first printing.
After visiting the eye doctor and getting fitted with glasses, Arlo the dog is able to catch the ball thrown by his owner. Includes eye chart, fold-out vision-testing machine, and four pairs of try-on glasses.
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles. From the Hardcover edition.
Stanley is excited about Crazy Hair Day at his school, until he discovers that he has gotten the date wrong and it is actually Class Picture Day, but his classmates come to his rescue in a show of solidarity. Jr Lib Guild. 15,000 first printing.
An energetic, heartfelt, and humorous ode to book love - now in a board book format! You can spin and twirl and dance with this book. You can listen while someone else reads it. You can take your book to lunch. Just do not try to feed it. Celebrate reading with the youngest book lovers in this huggable board book reformat of the beloved hardcover picture book. Ages 1-4
A collection of humorous poems for children.
A little girl who loves cats describes their various characteristics.
No matter how far apart they are, a little girl and her grandfather share a cup of tea every day at half past three.
Barney Saltzberg’s irrepressible and imaginative books—Good Egg, Beautiful Oops!, Arlo Needs Glasses, and A Little Bit of Oomph!, combine distinctive art, a lively spirit, and paper engineering to bring great joy to kids (and grown-ups, too). Now Barney is launching a new series of board books about a character named Redbird. With his long orange beak, red body, and friendly expression, Redbird calls to mind Dr. Seuss’s offbeat heroes and Boynton’s zany barnyard creatures, while embodying the author’s signature playful style. In Colors, Colors, Everywhere!, Redbird tries to pick his favorite color—is it red like him, blue like the sky, or yellow like the sun? Finally, he concludes: Colors, colors, everywhere! It’s hard to really choose. . . . It’s hard to really know! And that’s the reason why I love . . . the colors of the rainbow!
A touch and feel book introducing words which name textures associated with various animals such as scratchy cat, velvety cow, and rubbery fish.
Given blank books by their mother, Seymour, Fiona, and Wilbur let their imaginations fly, then put their stories, poems, and pictures together in a single, shared book.
Chengdu can do many things all by himself. He can get down from his branch, and he can look for breakfast. Chengdu can jump, he can push, and he can pull. He can climb, he can stretch, and he can swing. But sometimes even the most capable young panda could use a little help. Independent-minded toddlers will love following along as the determined Chengdu reaches for his goal of some tasty leaves.
An introduction to six-year-old Melvin Bubble as presented by his family, friends, and others.
For everyone everywhere who has ever felt they can't take one more minute of hassle. Enough said!

Best Books