An undying classic from Katie MacAlister, Sex and the Single Vampire is a paranormal romance lover’s delight, ideal for fans of Lynsay Sands and her Argeneau vampire family novels. This perennial New York Times bestselling author knows what readers are hungry for: sexy and funny tales of otherworldly passion featuring hot, dark, immortal alpha heroes searching for their happily forever afters. In Sex and the Single Vampire, MacAlister’s Dark One is an arrogant, studly romance novelist whom struggling “summoner” Alie mistakes for a specter…and recognizes as the fantasy man who has lately been invading her dreams!
This reference work reproduces in facsimile form many of the most important and innovative journal articles and papers in the field, along with an introductory overview by the editor, Allan F. Moore.
'Hooking up when you’re legless never did run smooth Laura and Jake just want sex. Late Friday night drunken sex. Nothing more. No strings attached. But getting your leg over is sometimes more difficult than you think. Wendy Hoose is a no-holds-barred smash hit comedy about two twenty-year-olds searching for love in all the wrong places!
Contemporary engagements with documentary are multifaceted and complex, reaching across disciplines to explore the intersections of politics and aesthetics, representation and reality, truth and illusion. Discarding the old notions of "fly on the wall" immediacy or quasi-scientific aspirations to objectivity, critics now understand documentary not as the neutral picturing of reality but as a way of coming to terms with reality through images and narrative. This book collects writings by artists, filmmakers, art historians, poets, literary critics, anthropologists, theorists, and others, to investigate one of the most vital areas of cultural practice: documentary. Their investigations take many forms -- essays, personal memoirs, interviews, poetry. Contemporary art turned away from the medium and toward the world, using photography and the moving image to take up global perspectives. Documentary filmmakers, meanwhile, began to work in the gallery context. The contributors consider the hybridization of art and film, and the "documentary turn" of contemporary art. They discuss digital technology and the "crisis of faith" caused by manipulation and generation of images, and the fading of the progressive social mandate that has historically characterized documentary. They consider invisible data and visible evidence; problems of archiving; and surveillance and biometric control, forms of documentation that call for "informatic opacity" as a means of evasion. ContributorsAriella Azoulay, Zach Blas, Christa BluÌ^mlinger, Stella Bruzzi, Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Kris Fallon, Evgenia Giannouri, Ben Lerner, SylveÌre Lotringer, Antonia Majaca, Sohrab Mohebbi, Volker Pantenburg, Veìreìna Paravel, Christopher Pinney, Ben Rivers, and Eyal Sivan Copublished with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Berlin
This book surveys John Baeder's thirty-five-year obsession with roadside architecture, especially America's diners, and complements Baeder's Morris Museum of Art exhibit of the same name. Often classified as a photorealist, Baeder has always resisted being labeled. He sees his paintings as a plea for preservation and a way to reveal the psychology behind diners.
With his critically acclaimed Rip It Up and Start Again, renowned music journalist Simon Reynolds applied a unique understanding to an entire generation of musicians working in the wake of punk rock. Spawning artists as singular as Talking Heads, Joy Division, The Specials, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Gang of Four, and Devo, postpunk achieved new relevance in the first decade of the twenty-first century through its profound influence on bands such as Radiohead, Franz Ferdinand, and Vampire Weekend. With Totally Wired the conversation continues. The book features thirty-two interviews with postpunk’s most innovative personalities—such as Ari Up, Jah Wobble, David Byrne, and Lydia Lunch—alongside an “overview” section of further reflections from Reynolds on postpunk’s key icons and crucial scenes. Included among them are John Lydon and PIL, Ian Curtis and Joy Division, and art-school conceptualists and proto-postpunkers Brian Eno and Malcolm McLaren. Reynolds follows these exceptional, often eccentric characters from their beginnings through the highs and lows of postpunk’s heyday. Crackling with argument and anecdote, Totally Wired paints a vivid portrait of individuals struggling against the odds to make their world as interesting as possible, in the process leaving a legacy of artistic ambition and provocation that reverberates to this day.
Emilio Pucci (1914-1992) had an amazing passion fo women, a visionary sense of style, and an aesthete's eye for colour and design. These talents led him to create a fashion house unlike any other.
While successful prosecutor Sarah Barcant returns home to a rural town in South Africa at the request of her mentor and inspiration to help him with one last case, former deputy Dirk Hendricks is on the way to meet Alex Mpondo, a prisoner he had tortured, and soon, the lives of these three people will be connected by the Truth Commission, forcing them to revisit their painful pasts, in a gripping novel of the ramifications of truth and the intimacy of enemies. Reprint. 10,000 first printing.
Offers a step-by-step method for learning finger-style blues guitar and includes five authentic blues tunes, graded exercises, illustrated tips, and standard notation and tablature.
From the Eisner-nominated creators of My Uncle Jeff, comes a new serialized graphic novel, A Sort of Homecoming. This is a story about friendship and brotherhood, and a bond that even death can't break. A Sort of Homecoming is the second entry in a series of graphic novels by Damon Hurd, with an overarching title, beta.After visiting David¿s longtime girlfriend Shannon in New York City, Owen travels to his childhood home in upstate New York and recalls his reunion with David after a long and difficult falling out in their friendship.24 page black and white comic with color covers
It’s my job to look at people and to think carefully about them. I was sure there was something strange about this man. His hair – nobody has their hair cut quite like that now. And that suit – it was quite clean, quite new, but the trousers and the jacket were different somehow … Where had I seen a suit like that before? There has been a car crash on an empty road, and a driver who thinks he has killed a man. Sue Fraser is a police officer. She has to investigate the accident. First she must find the strange hitchhiker – the man she gave a lift to on the day the accident happened. Level 4 1,250 headwords Story word count: 6,302 words Currently comprising 16 titles across four stages - from beginner to upper intermediate - the series is carefully graded, lexically and structurally, to encourage young adults to read for pleasure and at speed. The stories are all, first and foremost, just that - stories, from ELT authors well known for their ability to craft original and engaging narratives to entertain and educate. Each reader contains striking and contemporary full-colour illustrations and photos, resource pages of well-scaffolded exercises, and an easy-to-use glossary. Titles in Levels 1 and 2 are 32 pages each, while titles in Levels 3 and 4 are 40 pages each.
Written between 1726 to 1731 and edited by Hans Bischoff in 1882, the Partitas are among the last of the keyboard suites Bach composed. They are also the most technically demanding.

Best Books