Diving with Sharks is a complete guide for divers seeking sharks or anyone interested in these incredible creatures. The book takes a detailed look at shark biology and behaviour, and features all the popular, and many lesser known, shark species that divers can encounter. Shark diving hot spots from around the world are also featured. The book also provides information to assist divers to get the best from their shark diving experiences, looking at the dos and don'ts, the pros and cons and the possible dangers. The book also includes feature stories, including the sad story of shark finning, which has seen massive reductions in shark numbers around the world from overfishing. With over 500 known species of sharks, and more being discovered every year, Diving with Sharks is the ultimate guide for learning more about these incredible creatures of the deep and also where to see them, up close and personal.
Fans of Shark Week, Sharknado, and all things shark-related will want to sink their teeth into this exciting shark-infested chapter book. Join real-life cave divers, extreme photographers, and researchers as they brave thrilling undersea adventures! Kids who are familiar with the popular National Geographic Kids Chapters line are sure to be on the edge of their seats over these new totally true tales of adventure and survival. From the Trade Paperback edition.
In this book, diving veteran John Bantin recounts many of his spectacular diving experiences with several species of sharks and other marine animals over the last 4 decades. Accompanied by his own stunning photography, the encounters show the reader what it is like to get up close and personal to these bizarre and beautiful creatures.
Aimed at the experienced diver, this guide covers diving with Great White, Hammerhead and whale sharks, as well as cave and wreck diving, and diving under ice. Each chapter is a combination of specialized technical and environmentally aware diving advice, site information and anecdote.
Provides simple information about the thrill of diving with sharks. Includes information about different shark species.
Chronicles the scuba diving lessons that the author's daughter, Suzanne, takes while on vacation in the Bahamas, from her first lnstructions on gear and technique to her final dive with fifteen reef sharks.
This straight-from-the-hip handbook by bestselling author and self-made millionaire Harvey Mackay spells out the path to success for readers everywhere. They will learn how to: Outsell by getting appointments with people who absolutely, positively do not want to see you, and then making them glad they said "yes!" Outmanage by arming yourself with information on prospects, customers, and competitors that the CIA would envy - using a system called the "Mackay 66." Outmotivate by using his insights to help yourself or your kids join the ranks of Amercia's one million millionaires. Outnegotiate by knowing when to "smile and say no" and when to "send in the clones." This one-of-a-kind book by a businessman who's seen it all and done it all has sold almost 2 million copies, and is the essential roadmap for everyone on the path to success.
Joris Luyendijk, an investigative journalist, knew as much about banking as the average person: almost nothing. Bankers, he thought, were ruthless, competitive, bonus-obsessed sharks, irrelevant to his life. And then he was assigned to investigate the financial sector. Joris immersed himself in the City—London’s equivalent of Wall Street—for several years, speaking to over 200 people—from the competitive investment bankers and elite hedge-fund managers to downtrodden back-office staff, reviled HR managers, and those made redundant in the regular 'culls'. Breaking the strictly imposed code of secrecy and silence, these insiders spoke on record about what they actually do all day, how they see the toxic environment in which they work, and how they think the uninitiated see them. They confessed to feeling overwhelmed by the intransparency of our financial systems. They admitted that when Lehman Brothers went down in 2008 they hoarded food, put their money in gold, and prepared to evacuate their children to the countryside. They agreed that nothing has changed since the crash. A strange thing happens when you spend time among the bankers . . . you start to sympathize with them. What if the bankers themselves aren't the real enemy? What if the truth about global finance is more sinister than that?
Before Eugenie Clark's groundbreaking research, most people thought sharks were vicious, blood-thirsty killers. From the first time she saw a shark in an aquarium, Japanese-American Eugenie was enthralled. Instead of frightening and ferocious eating machines, she saw sleek, graceful fish gliding through the water. After she became a scientist—an unexpected career path for a woman in the 1940s—she began taking research dives and training sharks, earning her the nickname "The Shark Lady."
Describes what it is like to see sharks in their natural environment and discusses dangers that divers face and how they protect themselves.
Demonstrates that through scientific approaches to understanding and managing tourist interactions with marine wildlife, sustainable marine tourism can be achieved.
Sketch Allen was well known in the Naples area for providing an exciting shark dive over spectacular reefs along the southwest Florida coast. Together with his mate and dive master Charlie Jenkins, dive charters were always left with thrilling stories of encounters with large toothy predators on every dive trip. But then, a confluence of horrifying events would change both of their lives forever. An act of sabotage and a massive shark, largely unknown in the Gulf of Mexico would leave a trail of death and destruction unheard of by Coast Guard rescuers. Nothing in Sketch and Charlies vast diving experience could have prepared them for the terror that unfolded on that fateful dive with a charter of Wall Street bankers. The continuation of the saga in “part 2”, provides the culmination to the shark encounter and an exciting end to the criminal animal rights fanatic that was responsible for so much carnage. A tale of intrigue and excitement, Shark Dive will leave you breathless and wanting for more.
In this riveting true adventure and informative guide to the sea, master storyteller Peter Benchley draws on more than four decades of diving experience to bring us face to face with the array of sharks and other marine animals he and his family have encountered, almost always on purpose—but sometimes by accident. In direct and accessible prose, Peter sets the record straight about the many types of sharks (including the ones that pose a genuine threat to us), the behavior of sharks and other sea creatures we fear, the odds against an attack, and how to improve them even further. He also teaches us how to swim safely in the ocean by reading the tides and currents and respecting all the inhabitants. Here are the lessons Peter has learned, the mistakes he has made, the danger he has faced—and the spectacular sights he has seen in the world’s largest environment. The book includes 16 pages of black-and-white photographs. From the Hardcover edition.
Agile, sleek, and precise, sharks display many qualities we can admire and appreciate. These marvels of evolution have adapted to thrive in every major aquatic realm on the planet, from frigid Arctic waters through temperate but stormy seas and on into the tropics. However, few places on Earth are home to the amazing diversity of shark species that beautify the shallow waters of Florida and the Bahamas. In this first-ever book dedicated to the sharks of this region, biologist Jeffrey C. Carrier reveals the captivating lives of these large marine predators and describes how they have survived for over 400 million years. Guiding readers through basic biology, key attributes, and identification tips, the book explores what makes sharks such successful apex predators. Carrier explains fascinating phenomena, including the reason for the bizarre shape of the hammerhead, how a bull shark is able to swim hundreds of miles up freshwater rivers, what lies behind sharks’ remarkable capability to learn and remember, and why many scientists believe that they are equipped with the most sophisticated sensory systems in the animal kingdom. With the stunning full-color underwater photography of Andy Murch, Jillian Morris, and Duncan Brake, Sharks of the Shallows brings boaters, fishers, divers, and shark lovers directly alongside these unfairly maligned creatures. And not a moment too soon! Sharks are experiencing stresses unlike any in their long history, and are struggling to survive in a changing ocean. They will continue to grace our coastlines only if we care enough to understand them.
From the Bahamas and South Africa to Shanghai, sharks are the object of an obsession: film stars go big-game fishing for them and shark's fin soup is a coveted status symbol in China. Elsewhere, people and sharks exist alongside each other: surfers tolerate their presence and eco-tourists swim with them. Yet, after millions of years of the shark s evolution and survival, the human fascination with these animals may eventually lead to their extinction. In this eye-opening adventure, which criss-crosses the globe, Juliet Eilperin examines why sharks remain nature's most awe-inspiring creatures. She also explores the fascinating ways in which humans relate to the ocean's top predator.
For most people, sharks and fear go hand in hand. Renowned photographer and conservationist Chris Fallows maintains a more nuanced relationship with the super predator. Gasp-inducing in their immediacy and surprise, Fallows's brilliant photographs present these mighty creatures in a different light. Great White, the first publication to collect Fallows's work reveals the sublime beauty of sharks and provides a rare glimpse into the largely unseen world of great whites, hammerheads, and other breeds. Fallows captures these fearsome creatures both above water, as they intersect with humanity, and below, in their mysterious underwater domain. A one-of-a-kind portrait of the shark and a superlative study of the nature photographer's art, this collection is bound to turn heads and elicit a deep appreciation for the creatures that inhabit our oceans.
A guide for marine enthusiasts who seek intentional encounters with sharks enables readers to assess the risks involved, profiling the dangers associated with specific varieties and offering advice on how to make observations in and out of the water. (Biology & Natural History)
A comprehensive guide to the sharks of the Red Sea. It contains information under the following headings: sharks and divers; where are sharks found on Red Sea coral reefs?; how likely is a diver to see a shark on a Red Sea reef? are the sharks seen on reefs confined to reefs?; is a shark doomed to swim or sink?; can sharks rest on the bottom?; sensory mechanisms; reproduction and development; sharks and their escorts; conservation; does the great white shark occur in the Red Sea?; diving with sharks; danger and diet; warning signs; attacking to feed; attacks on divers; time of day; does size matter?; feeding sharks; sharks and marine mammals; when things go wrong; safety tips.
An in-depth guide to sharks includes information on where they live, how they eat, the challenges they face, and whether or not certain species pose a danger to humans.

Best Books