Animals can be cute...and cruel! Read Seb's journal for some truly terrifying shark secrets. Meet Snow White the great white shark and get really close to her huge, scissor-sharp jaws. Relive the drama, dangers and disgusting details as you find out: if toilets are more dangerous than sharks; how to escape from a shark; how you tickle a shark; what a shark's favorite color is.
Provides simple information about the thrill of diving with sharks. Includes information about different shark species.
Diving with Sharks is a complete guide for divers seeking sharks or anyone interested in these incredible creatures. The book takes a detailed look at shark biology and behaviour, and features all the popular, and many lesser known, shark species that divers can encounter. Shark diving hot spots from around the world are also featured. The book also provides information to assist divers to get the best from their shark diving experiences, looking at the dos and don'ts, the pros and cons and the possible dangers. The book also includes feature stories, including the sad story of shark finning, which has seen massive reductions in shark numbers around the world from overfishing. With over 500 known species of sharks, and more being discovered every year, Diving with Sharks is the ultimate guide for learning more about these incredible creatures of the deep and also where to see them, up close and personal.
Fans of Shark Week, Sharknado, and all things shark-related will want to sink their teeth into this exciting shark-infested chapter book. Join real-life cave divers, extreme photographers, and researchers as they brave thrilling undersea adventures! Kids who are familiar with the popular National Geographic Kids Chapters line are sure to be on the edge of their seats over these new totally true tales of adventure and survival. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Follows the author's visit to Cocos Island in the South Pacific to join a film-making team on location as they document the undersea environment and behavior of the hammerhead shark.
Exotic challenges for adventurous divers Both inspiring and instructional, Diving with Sharks is for competent divers who desire more challenging adventures--perhaps diving with the menacing great whites or exploring ships that had succumbed to the sea. Included are specialized techniques for each dive and human drama stories that add zest to an already extraordinary collection of adventures.
Katharine and Crockett hope to make a splash by making the Stingrays swim team. Especially since Vanessa the Unsinkable Garfinkle is on the Sharks. So when Katharine does a belly flop in front of everyone and gets caught telling an itty-bitty lie, she feels like shark bait. But when the Unsinkable Garfinkle faces her own troubles, will Katharine dive in to help her out?
This guide contains useful and easily accessible information on a wide range of topics concerning sharks and their interaction wih divers. The authors main concern is that sharks should be understood rather than feared and that through our knowledge of sharks will come a deeper appreciation of their nature and desire that they should be conserved rather than hunted to extinction.
Im Herzen der Krise, die Europa derzeit zu zerreißen droht, steht ein Paradox. Nicht die Kluft zwischen den wirtschaftlich starken Ländern des Nordens und den laxen Ökonomien des Südens oder die Einwanderung treiben die Spaltung voran, sondern – absurd genug – die gemeinsame Währung, der Euro. Warum? Analytisch brillant und fesselnd lenkt Yanis Varoufakis den Blick zurück auf die hochdramatischen wirtschaftspolitischen Wendepunkte des 20. Jahrhunderts: von der Aufgabe des Goldstandards 1973 über die Machtkämpfe zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich um Dominanz in der Eurozone bis zu den fatalen Folgen des Börsencrashs von 2008. Dass die Europäische Union als Bürokratie-Konglomerat im Dienste der Großindustrie entstand, ist kein Zufall; dass ihrer Währung demokratische Kontrollmechanismen fehlen, dagegen eine Katastrophe. Seit Amerika seine Rolle als Stabilisator der Weltwirtschaft nicht mehr spielt, zeitigen die Konstruktionsfehler des Euro immer dramatischere Folgen. Sollen auch in Zukunft die Schwächsten den Preis für die Fehler der Banker zahlen? Ein neues politisches Konzept ist nötig, um die Krise zu lösen und die europäische Idee zu retten.
Sketch Allen was well known in the Naples area for providing an exciting shark dive over spectacular reefs along the southwest Florida coast. Together with his mate and dive master Charlie Jenkins, dive charters were always left with thrilling stories of encounters with large toothy predators on every dive trip. But then, a confluence of horrifying events would change both of their lives forever. An act of sabotage and a massive shark, largely unknown in the Gulf of Mexico would leave a trail of death and destruction unheard of by Coast Guard rescuers. Nothing in Sketch and Charlies vast diving experience could have prepared them for the terror that unfolded on that fateful dive with a charter of Wall Street bankers. The continuation of the saga in “part 2”, provides the culmination to the shark encounter and an exciting end to the criminal animal rights fanatic that was responsible for so much carnage. A tale of intrigue and excitement, Shark Dive will leave you breathless and wanting for more.
Demonstrates that through scientific approaches to understanding and managing tourist interactions with marine wildlife, sustainable marine tourism can be achieved.
Gewinner der Silver Medal des Axiom Business Book Award 2016 Auf der Liste der Bloomberg Best Books 2016 Mit einem exklusiven Vorwort von Star-Ökonom Nouriel Roubini $uper-hubs enthüllt, wie die Finanzelite und ihre mächtigen Netzwerke das Weltgeschehen – und damit unser aller Leben – beherrschen. Super-hubs sind die am besten vernetzten Knotenpunkte innerhalb des Finanznetzwerks, wie Milliardär George Soros, JP-Morgan-Chef Jamie Dimon und Blackrock-Boss Larry Fink. Ihre persönlichen Beziehungen und globalen Netzwerke verleihen ihnen finanzielle, wirtschaftliche und politische "Super-Macht". Mit ihren Entscheidungen bewegen sie täglich Billionen auf den Finanzmärkten und haben somit direkten Einfluss auf Industrien, Arbeitsplätze, Wechselkurse, Rohstoffe oder sogar den Preis unserer Lebensmittel. Als Insiderin der Hochfinanz nimmt Sandra Navidi Sie mit hinter die Kulissen dieses Mikrokosmos der Macht: zum Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos, zum Internationalen Währungsfonds, zu Thinktanks, Benefizgalas und glamourösen Partys. Sie beleuchtet die Menschen, die hinter abstrakten Institutionen und Billionen an Kapital stehen, ihr Erfolgsgeheimnis, ihre privilegierte Existenz und die Auswirkungen auf unser Finanzsystem und damit auch auf die Zukunft unserer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Erstmals überhaupt gibt Sandra Navidi damit einen Einblick in die sonst hermetisch abgeriegelte Machtelite.
Describes what it is like to see sharks in their natural environment and discusses dangers that divers face and how they protect themselves.
A guide to how, when, and where to ethically view wildlife up close in the wild offers the author's favorite spots, from tracking mountain gorillas and encountering pandas to meeting elephants on a walking safari and climbing in search of condors.
Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, the author's family lived aboard a 47-foot sailboat, spending their summers along the U.S. East Coast and their winters in the Bahamas. "Boat Kid" strikes a perfect balance between coming-of-age story and sea tale enjoyable for boaters and land-lovers alike.
A comprehensive guide to the sharks of the Red Sea. It contains information under the following headings: sharks and divers; where are sharks found on Red Sea coral reefs?; how likely is a diver to see a shark on a Red Sea reef? are the sharks seen on reefs confined to reefs?; is a shark doomed to swim or sink?; can sharks rest on the bottom?; sensory mechanisms; reproduction and development; sharks and their escorts; conservation; does the great white shark occur in the Red Sea?; diving with sharks; danger and diet; warning signs; attacking to feed; attacks on divers; time of day; does size matter?; feeding sharks; sharks and marine mammals; when things go wrong; safety tips.
In this book, diving veteran John Bantin recounts many of his spectacular diving experiences with several species of sharks and other marine animals over the last 4 decades. Accompanied by his own stunning photography, the encounters show the reader what it is like to get up close and personal to these bizarre and beautiful creatures.
Marine biologist Pete Klimley swims with the sharks. He was one of the first scientists to free-dive among sharks, and he has spent nearly thirty years studying shark behavior, sometimes swimming in schools of several hundred sharks. From his firsthand observations he has learned that sharks are not the vicious man-eaters that we imagine, but fascinating animals with complex behaviors. Most people who think of sharks at all think immediately of great white sharks. But there are more than four hundred species of shark. Dr. Klimley has studied several species, most notably the great white and the hammerhead. (He describes the great white as the athlete among sharks, and the hammerhead as the Ph.D. of the shark world.) In The Secret Life of Sharks Dr. Klimley reveals the significant discoveries he made about hammerhead navigation and great white eating habits. By studying hammerheads gathered around underwater seamounts, Dr. Klimley learned that hammerheads rely on sophisticated tracking of ocean-floor magnetism to navigate. His long-term study of great white sharks off the California coast demonstrated that these huge sharks prefer to eat seals and sea lions because of the energy contained in their fatty bodies. They are selective eaters, not the man-eaters we expect, and they sometimes go weeks between meals. But Dr. Klimley did observe a ritualized behavior that great whites practice in order to avoid deadly disputes over prey that one shark has captured and another wants. Although we have learned a great deal about shark behavior, says Dr. Klimley, there is much that we do not know. Unfortunately we are destroying these magnificent creatures of the deep through overfishing and degradation of the oceans. Already some populations of sharks have declined steeply. Vividly written by one of the foremost authorities on sharks, The Secret Life of Sharks is a fascinating account of some of the world's most magnificent animals.
Nature is much smarter than the likes of Stanford, Harvard, MIT, McKinsey, Boston Consulting Group, Bain, IBM, Apple and all of the other Fortune 500 companies. In nature, sharks have to move to survive. But in business most market leaders do not, because they are stuck in history--and eventually become shark food. Sharks don't perform by producing endless Power Points; they bite into market share. Sharkonomics will reveal how the logos of market leaders will have more bites taken out of them than a seal after a shark picnic. This book is inspired by Mother Nature's sharks which have been around for more than 420 million years and completed numerous strategic moves. It will prepare you to jump into the water and attack the market. Economic competition is increasing rapidly and reduced resources will increase that further. Economist Joseph Schumpeter (1883-1950) came up with the term "creative destruction" to demonstrate why companies need to innovate constantly in order to survive. In my opinion Schumpeter was converting the saying "eat or be eaten" into economic terms. Sharkonomics is a further enhancement of this: "read this book and take a bite". Sharkonomics will reveal where and how to attack companies such as Apple, through some of the enormous blind spots they are unaware of and through mistakes in their defence strategies.

Best Books