A compilation of practical advice and folklore features weather forecasts for the United States, planting tables, health remedies, horoscopes, recipes, games and puzzles, and other entertaining and useful information
Time-tested and generation approved, "Farmers' Almanac" is not only a nature-based calendar of the coming year, but also a publication that promotes sustainable, simple living for everyone. It provides a compendium of knowledge on weather, gardening, cooking, remedies, managing your household, preserving the earth, and more. "Farmers' Almanac" goes beyond today's experts and enlightens you with generations of perception, experience, and common sense.
Provides weather predictions for the entire United States and includes such features as the best days for fishing, recipes from the Wild West, and tips for tightwads.
A compilation of practical advice and folklore features weather forecasts for the United States, planting tables, health remedies, horoscopes, recipes, games and puzzles, and other entertaining and useful information.
Provides weather predictions for the entire United States and includes such features as gardening advice, a fishing calendar, and trivia.
Founded in 1971 by Elizabeth Pepper, the art director of Gourmet magazine for many years, The Witches’ Almanac is a witty, literate, and sophisticated publication that appeals to general readers as well as hard-core Wiccans. At one level, it is a pop reference that will fascinate anyone interested in folklore, mythology, and culture, but at another, it is the most sophisticated and wide-ranging annual guide available today for the mystical enthusiast. Modeled after the Old Farmers’ Almanac, it includes information related to the annual Moon calendar (weather forecasts and horoscopes) as well as legends, rituals, herbal secrets, mystic incantations, interviews, and many a curious tale of good and evil. Although it is an annual publication, only about 15 percent of the content is specific to the date range of each issue. The Witches’ Almanac features more than 140 pages of interesting and timeless articles about witchcraft, magic, herbalism, charms, spells, and related topics written by authors from the witchcraft and magical communities. The theme of Issue 36 (Spring 2017 – Spring 2018) is Water: Our Primal Source. Included are “The Coffin Ring,” “A Beekeeper’s Year,” “The Margate Grotto,” “Speaking in Tongues,” “Poppets,” and “Thomas the Rhymer.”
The Hottest Baby Name Trends, Lists, and Forecasts An instant snapshot of how the world today is shaping the name you may choose for your child tomorrow, The 2018 Baby Names Almanac is jam-packed with information and trends, plus thousands of names to browse. Here's a sneak peak at the ideas, forecasts, predictions, and suggestions you'll find: •Why some names are more popular than you think (Willow, Bryson) •The cutting edge names on the rise (Kylo, Kehlani) and the superhot names cooling fast (Caitlin, Jonael) •The crossover pop culture names that will be moving to the cribs of tomorrow (Millie, Marvel) •Just how many Emmas and Noahs are out there •A look at whether popular unisex names like Sawyer or Charlie are used more for boys or girls •The hottest names in your state The country that's behind several skyrocketing names
Presents a children's book for early readers that describes the effects of weather and climate on humans and wildlife, the various climate regions such as the mountains and desert areas, tropical grasslands and rainforests, and more.
Includes over three hundred recipes that focus on using garden-fresh vegetables, with tips and advice for herb, vegetable, and edible flower gardening.
Discusses the reckless annihilation of fish and birds by the use of pesticides and warns of the possible genetic effects on humans.
Get thousands of facts right at your fingertips with this essential resource The World Almanac® and Book of Facts is America's top-selling reference book of all time, with more than 82 million copies sold. Since 1868, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs. The 2016 edition of The World Almanac® reviews the events of 2015 and will be your go-to source for any questions on any topic in the upcoming year. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac® and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs—from history and sports to geography, pop culture, and much more. Features include: • The Year in Review: The World Almanac® takes a look back at 2015 while providing all the information you'll need in 2016. • 2015—Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac® list the top stories that held their attention in 2015. • 2015—Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring complete coverage of the first College Football Playoff, the Women's World Cup, 2015 World Series, and much more. • 2015—Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2015, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. • 2015—Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac® editors found some of the strangest news stories of the year. • World Almanac® Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac® lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2015, from news and sports to pop culture. • U.S. Immigration: A Statistical Feature: The World Almanac® covers the historical background, statistics, and legal issues surrounding immigration, giving factual context to one of the hot-button topics of the upcoming election cycle. • World Almanac® Editors' Picks: Most Memorable Super Bowls: On the eve of Super Bowl 50, the editors of The World Almanac® choose the most memorable "big games." • New Employment Statistics: Five years after the peak of the great recession, The World Almanac® takes a look at current and historic data on employment and unemployment, industries generating job growth, and the training and educational paths that lead to careers. • 2016 Election Guide: With a historic number of contenders for the presidential nominations, The World Almanac® provides information that every primary- and general-election voter will need to make an informed decision in 2016, including information on state primaries, campaign fundraising, and the issues voters care about most in 2016. • The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac® provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. • and much more.
Collects over four hundred recipes for American cuisine, including recipes for breakfast, soups, entrees, breads, and desserts, and instructions for canning and preserving foods.
Provides rural information ("Do not disturb your bees in cold weather") for each month of the year.
Henry's Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois — some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author — have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that's sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy, nutritious food in ways that doesn't despoil the land. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.
The 150th Anniversary special edition of the best-selling reference book of all time! The ebook format allows curious readers to keep millions of searchable facts at their fingertips. The World Almanac® and Book of Facts is America's top-selling reference book of all time, with more than 82 million copies sold. Since 1868, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs. The 150th anniversary edition celebrates its illustrious history while keeping an eye on the future. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs—from history and sports to geography, pop culture, and much more. Features include: 150 Years of The World Almanac: A special feature celebrating The World Almanac's historic run includes highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned "facts," illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times. Historical Anniversaries: The World Almanac's recurring feature expands to incorporate milestone events and cultural touchstones dating to the book's founding year, from the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson to the publication of Little Women. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Greatest Single-Season Performances: In light of Russell Westbrook's unprecedented 42 regular-season triple-doubles, The World Almanac takes a look back in sports history for athletes' best single-season runs. Statistical Spotlight: A popular new feature highlights statistics relevant to the biggest stories of the year. These data visualizations provide important context and new perspectives to give readers a fresh angle on important issues. The Obama Presidency: A year after Barack Obama’s second term came to a close, The World Almanac reviews the accomplishments, missteps, and legacy of the 44th president. The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. Other New Highlights: A brand-new biography of the 45th president and profile of the Trump administration; 2016 election results; and statistics on crime, health care, overdose deaths, shootings, terrorism, and much more. The Year in Review: The World Almanac takes a look back at 2017 while providing all the information you'll need in 2018. 2017—Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world's attention in 2017. 2017—Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring a preview of the upcoming 2018 Winter Olympic Games, complete coverage of the 2017 World Series, new tables of NBA, NHL, and NCAA statistics, and much more. 2017—Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2017, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. 2017—Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the quirkiest news stories of the year, from the king who secretly worked as an airline pilot for decades to the state that's auctioning off its governor's mansion. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2017, from news and sports to pop culture.

Best Books