According to Sprague, doubling in Lessing's novels is a perfect correlative for the complexity and contradiction Lessing perceives as central to the private and collective human experience. Her doubles and multiples not only indicate the fracturing or the formation of identity but they also are among the several strategies used to project complex private and societal concerns. This study of Lessing's dialectical imagination extends and revises earlier feminist approaches. Originally published in 1987. A UNC Press Enduring Edition -- UNC Press Enduring Editions use the latest in digital technology to make available again books from our distinguished backlist that were previously out of print. These editions are published unaltered from the original, and are presented in affordable paperback formats, bringing readers both historical and cultural value.
From the very first moment Saratu met Bindul, he made her believed that she was more than any other woman he had ever seen in the world. He bathed her with love, bathed her, bathed her and finally drowned her completely into his love. Saratu loves him with the truest love of her heart. As matter-of-factly, they were head over heels in love. They admired each other, they adored each other, they allured each other, they liked each other, they want each other, they need each other, they beseechingly desired each other and they loved each other like politicians with corruptions. They declared their love for each other and not so long they stood in front of an overfilled church congregation to publicly declare their love for each other in a one-in-town society marriage. They swam in their love and lived very, very comfortable and happily in love. Saratu wasn’t in need of anything, even sex. Bindul gave her all the practical part of love, the love that was made in heaven for a woman, that kind of love that made her feel as though she was the only EVE with the only ADAM in this modern world and she was wholly dependable on it. Like King Solomon to his wives and concubines, Bindul lavished Saratu with the sweetest lovely words and praises. He gave her all that she needed in life. But when Saratu later discovered that her husband was still madly in love with Jimikat, his primeval girlfriend, things wasn’t the same again for her. Their loveliest sex-packed marriage suffered a temporary drought of sex. Saratu first run to her dear friend, Dakmikat for help. Despite doing everything, her husband clung onto Jimikat like a tick to a cow. But at the end, when Bindul brought the two of them together, the problem was solved and Saratu and Jimikat became very, very good friends and lived very happily under the spell of Bindul.
Picture this: it’s Saturday afternoon, and you’re putting the finishing touches on tomorrow’s sermon. You’ve been thinking, researching, and praying about this message all week, and thankfully, feel prepared. That is, except for one small detail—you aren’t sure how to begin. For more than 30 years, Tony Evans has been connecting with audiences around the world. Now his tools are available for you. Don’t leave your listeners to connect the dots. Let Tony Evans’ Book of Illustrations help you illustrate your point in a way they can’t forget.
God's greatest desire is to be your dwelling place -- The home for your heart. He doesn't want to be merely a weekend getaway. He has no interest in being a Sunday bungalow or even a summer cottage. He wants to be your mailing address, your point of reference, your home ... always. He wants you to live in the Great House of God. Using the Lord's Prayer as a floor plan, Max Lucado takes you on a tour of the home God intended for you. Warm your heart by the fire in the living room. Nourish your spirit in the kitchen. Seek fellowship in the family room. Step into the hallway and find forgiveness. It's the perfect home for you. After all, it was created with you in mind. There's only one home built just for your heart. No house more complete, no structure more solid: The roof never leaks. The walls never crack. The foundation never trembles. In God's house, you're home. So come into the house built just for you. Your Father is waiting.
Musing in the Footsteps of Jesus beckons you to interact with the real and imaginary characters involved in events of Jesuss early ministry. Witness the life-changing effect on a tent maker and his two young sons as Jesus receives baptism in the Jordan River accompanied by the voice of God introducing him as his beloved son. Be with Jesus in a cave for forty days, preparing for the attack by Satan and his airborne, warring angels. Marvel at how a bear and an owl contribute to Jesuss survival. Enjoy the sense of humor of the fishermen who joke of the Messiah as their big catch. Later, as Jesuss full-time disciples, they cheerfully confess they are the ones enmeshed in a net. The wedding in Cana turns comical when a renowned chef finds the wine unworthy of his recipes. Jesuss new wine proves to be the best wine ever to touch the gourmets palate. A Pharisee ruler comes to Jesus at night. As the schooled priest asks Jesus of the secrets of heaven, the mans conflicting thoughts reveal his character and spirituality. The woman at Jacobs well appears to be a repentant sinner yearning for a Messiah. The vision Jesus sees of her past explains why he tells her, before all others, that he is the Christ. When a rich man asks Jesus how to get to heaven, Christ answers that he must part with his riches and serve him. The man leaves with a sad countenance. Hear the mystical voice from a whirlwind, see the rich mans fanciful flight on a horse to the moon, and you will understand why he chose to obey Jesus and serve him. This storyteller prays these dreams will increase your hunger for deeper understanding of the Holy Scriptures.
A comprehensive verse-by-verse commentary for lay Bible students, fully highlighted by articles, maps, charts, and illustrations-all in one volume. Clear and Comprehensive: Annotations by leading evangelical scholars don't dodge tough issues; alternative views are presented fairly, but commentators make their positions clear. Attractively Designed: Graphics appeal to the sound-bite generation and others who aren't traditional commentary readers. Interesting and Revealing: Hundreds of feature articles that provide additional information or new perspectives on a topic related to Bible background. Visually Appealing: Maps, drawings, and photos illuminate the commentary and visualize important information.
The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary provides a visually stimulating journey for anyone interested in learning more about the world of the Bible. Through the articles, sidebars, charts, maps, and full-color images included in this volume, the text of the Old and New Testaments will come alive for you as never before. As a condensation of the Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the information contained within this reference work is solid and biblically sound. The material is based completely on the NIV and cross-referenced to the King James Version, and it contains over 7,200 entries, 500 four-color photographs, charts, and illustrations, 75 four-color maps, and a Scripture index ... making this wonderful Bible study resource a must-have whether you’re a general reader of the Bible, a pastor, or a student.
Walter of Châtillon’s Latin epic on the life of Alexander the Great was a twelfth- and thirteenth-century “best-seller:” scribes produced over two hundred manuscripts. The poem follows Alexander from his first successes in Asia Minor, through his conquest of Persia and India, to his progressive moral degeneration and his poisoning by a disaffected lieutenant. The Alexandreis exemplifies twelfth-century discourses of world domination and the exoticism of the East. But at the same time it calls such dreams of mastery into question, repeatedly undercutting as it does Alexander’s claims to heroism and virtue and by extension, similar claims by the great men of Walter’s own generation. This extraordinarily layered and subtle poem stands as a high-water mark of the medieval tradition of Latin narrative literature. Along with David Townsend’s revised translation, this edition provides a rich selection of historical documents, including other writings by Walter of Châtillon, excerpts from other medieval Latin epics, and contemporary accounts of the foreign and “exotic.”
Lessons include: - The Great Picnic (Matthew 14:13-21)- You Are Jesus' Magnifying Glass (John 17:20-26)- How To Settle An Argument (Acts 15:22)- The Key Ring That Unites Us (Romans 6:2b-11)- Do The Dishes? (1 Peter 4:13-19)- Counting Sand (Revelation 5:11-14)...and many more!
In this book, Watchman Nee shares with younger colleagues the absolute necessity for the spirit of the gospel, giving practical instructions on how to preach the gospel, and the four indispensable factors to an acceptance of the gospel.
As Alexander the Great sits with his troops poised to attack, his guides are murdered. Can he uncover the spies in time? The House of Death is the first mystery in the magnificent Ancient Greece series featuring Alexander the Great and his physician Telamon, by master historian Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody. 'Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests' - The Times It is 334 BC and the young Alexander sits with his troops by the Hellespont, poised to attack the empire of the great King Darius III. To win the approval of the gods for his enterprise he makes many offerings, yet the smoke does not rise, the sacrificial animals are flawed. Worse, his guides are being brutally murdered, Persian spies are in the camp, and Alexander's generals have their own secrets. Into this turmoil comes Telamon, a physician and boyhood friend of Alexander. As the climax builds and Alexander throws off his nervous fears, winning a brilliant and bloody triumph over the Persians, Telamon must at last succeed in unmasking their enemies... What readers are saying about The House of Death: 'A book to fall in love with' 'Paul Doherty at his very best! Very well researched - a joy to read' 'Found myself totally engrossed in the book; I could not put it down till I got to the very last page'

Best Books