Epic action and adventure from the glory days of naval power 1847: Despite the best efforts of the Royal Navy, transatlantic slavers continue to profit from the illegal trade. Idealistic young naval officer Kit Killigrew wants to stop them. With the aid of Rear-Admiral Sir Charles Napier, Killigrew hatches a daring plan to infiltrate the slavers and discover the whereabouts of the biggest slave market in West Africa. But Kit will also need find out the identity of a shadowy British figure, one of the slave trade’s major investors. A veteran of campaigns in Syria and China, Killigrew now sets out on a perilous high-seas adventure that will challenge him to his very limits... Full of sea-salt, gunpowder and nail-biting naval action, this is the first in the extraordinary Killigrew naval dramas, perfect for fans of C.S. Forester, Patrick O’Brian and Julian Stockwin. Praise for the Killigrew Novels ‘A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling? You bet’ Belfast Telegraph ‘If you revel in the Hornblower and the Sharpe books, grab a copy of Jonathan Lunn’ Bolton Evening News ‘A new naval hero who will delight lovers of seafaring yarns’ Manchester Evening News The Kit Killigrew Naval Series Killigrew of the Royal Navy Killigrew and the Golden Dragon Killigrew and the Incorrigibles Killigrew and the North-West Passage Killigrew’s Run Killigrew and the Sea Devil Please note this novel was previously published as Killigrew R.N.
Piracy, bloodshed and betrayal in the early days of Hong Kong... 1849, South China Sea: A burning clipper and her slaughtered crew can only be the work of Zhai Jing-mu, China’s most feared and ruthless pirate. Kit Killigrew, HMS Tisiphone’s second lieutenant, captures Zhai after a bloody chase. After handing Zhai to the police, Killigrew is free to enjoy the many pleasures of Hong Kong. But beneath the opulent surface, tensions seethe: the Triads are gaining influence and the hostilities behind the Opium War are all too easily revived. Then Zhai escapes... Soon Killigrew finds treachery and murder around every corner. And somewhere in this tangled web lurks Blase Bannatyne, wealthy tai-pan of the leading company importing opium into China. The game is afoot! The second in a stunning series featuring naval hero Kit Killigrew, Jonathan Lunn’s Killigrew and the Golden Dragon is alive with the sights, sounds and smells of naval adventure. Perfect for fans of Iain Gale, Philip McCutchan and Bernard Cornwell. Praise for the Killigrew Novels ‘A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling? You bet’ Belfast Telegraph ‘If you revel in the Hornblower and the Sharpe books, grab a copy of Jonathan Lunn’ Bolton Evening News ‘A new naval hero who will delight lovers of seafaring yarns’ Manchester Evening News The Kit Killigrew Naval Series Killigrew of the Royal Navy Killigrew and the Golden Dragon Killigrew and the Incorrigibles Killigrew and the North-West Passage Killigrew’s Run Killigrew and the Sea Devil
Killigrew meets his match as the Crimean War hots up The Baltic, 1854: Navies, like armies, have camp followers, and the British fleet that sails to the Baltic on the eve of the Crimean War is no exception. Along with the floating grog shop and brothels come ‘war tourists’ – aristocratic gentlemen travelling to see the war first-hand. When Viscount Bullivant is taken prisoner by the Russians, it falls to Commander Kit Killigrew to negotiate his release. But the Russians suspect his lordship has vital information and before long Killigrew is a prisoner of the Third Section – the feared Tsarist secret police. In the ensuing forty-eight hours, Killigrew must escape, rescue Bullivant, steal back his yacht, sail through the treacherous Ekenäs Archipelago and take on a Russian ship with an unarmed schooner. And in Captain-Lieutenant Count Mikhail Yurievich Pechorin, he may finally have met his match... Praise for the Killigrew Novels ‘Leaves the reader breathless for his next voyage’ Northern Echo ‘Action-packed and well-researched... in the vein of Forester and O’Brian but with its own distinctive flavour’ Good Book Guide ‘A rollicking tale with plenty of punches’ Lancashire Evening Post ‘A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling? You bet’ Belfast Telegraph The Kit Killigrew Naval Series Killigrew of the Royal Navy Killigrew and the Golden Dragon Killigrew and the Incorrigibles Killigrew and the North-West Passage Killigrew’s Run Killigrew and the Sea Devil
Darkness, death and danger on the South Seas South Seas, 1850: Kit Killigrew and the Tisiphone are heading towards Norfolk Island, a savage penal colony; ostensibly to drop off the prison chief’s new governess, but also deliver a reporter bent on interviewing Devin Cusack – an Irish political prisoner. But when an unknown party tries to rescue Cusack, seven of the island’s most ruthless prisoners escape, including the fearsome Wyatt. What ensues is a deadly game of cat and mouse among the New Hebrides, where Killigrew unearths a series of illegal trades. Ultimately, it is Killigrew’s state of mind which threatens to achieve what a tribe of cannibals, a band of desperate criminals and a vicious trader – hell bent on profit at any cost – cannot, as he places himself in the line of danger once too often... The third magnificent Killigrew adventure, this is a thrilling maritime ride perfect for fans of C.S. Forester, Patrick O’Brian and Julian Stockwin. Praise for the Killigrew Novels ‘A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling? You bet’ Belfast Telegraph ‘If you revel in the Hornblower and the Sharpe books, grab a copy of Jonathan Lunn’ Bolton Evening News ‘A new naval hero who will delight lovers of seafaring yarns’ Manchester Evening News The Kit Killigrew Naval Series Killigrew of the Royal Navy Killigrew and the Golden Dragon Killigrew and the Incorrigibles Killigrew and the North-West Passage Killigrew’s Run Killigrew and the Sea Devil
Maritime action in the frozen Arctic 1852: It would be one of the most famous rescue missions ever attempted. For Lieutenant Kit Killigrew, the opportunity to search the Arctic for Sir John Franklin’s ill-fated expedition is a dream come true. Soon it becomes the stuff of nightmares. When a captain more interested in personal glory than safety forces them into uncharted waters, Killigrew begins to doubt they will ever get out alive, let alone find Franklin. As desperation sets in, Killigrew knows he must act. But then, to add to their troubles, a creature of almost mythical proportions starts to pick off the crew, one by one... Killigrew and the North-West Passage evokes the true horror of an Arctic winter. Jonathan Lunn’s most chilling and exciting novel yet is perfect for readers of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O’Brian. Praise for the Killigrew Novels ‘Leaves the reader breathless for his next voyage’ Northern Echo ‘Action-packed and well-researched... in the vein of Forester and O’Brian but with its own distinctive flavour’ Good Book Guide ‘A rollicking tale with plenty of punches’ Lancashire Evening Post ‘A hero to rival any Horatio Hornblower. Swashbuckling? You bet’ Belfast Telegraph The Kit Killigrew Naval Series Killigrew of the Royal Navy Killigrew and the Golden Dragon Killigrew and the Incorrigibles Killigrew and the North-West Passage Killigrew’s Run Killigrew and the Sea Devil
Für Carson Napier, den amerikanischen Astronauten, gibt es keine Rückkehr zur Erde mehr. Seine Versuchsrakete, mit der er ursprünglich den Mars ansteuern wollte, ist auf der Venus gestrandet.Er selbst hat den Absturz seines Raumfahrzeugs nur durch einen glücklichen Zufall überlebt. Doch Carson rechnet sich keine großen Chancen aus, den tödlichen Gefahren dieses wilden Planeten, wo jeder gegen jeden zu kämpfen scheint, auf Dauer zu entgehen...Der Amtor- oder Venus-Zyklus von Edgar Rice Burroughs gehört zu den bekanntesten Science-Fiction-Romanen des Tarzan-Autors. Der erste Band, Pirates of Venus (dt. Piraten der Venus) erschien 1932 im Argosy-Weekly-Magazin. 1934 folgte die Buchausgabe. Die erste Geschichte war so erfolgreich, dass der Autor 1933 im gleichen Magazin die Fortsetzung Lost On Venus (dt. Verschollen auf der Venus) folgen ließ. Anfang der 1970er Jahre lagen die ersten vier Bände des Venus-Zyklus auch in deutscher Sprache vor. In seiner Reihe APEX SF-KLASSIKER veröffentlicht der Apex-Verlag diese vier Romane als durchgesehene Neu-Ausgabe (in der Übersetzung von Thomas Schlück).Der abschließende fünfte Band, The Wizard Of Venus, erscheint unter dem Titel Der Zauberer von der Venus als deutsche Erstveröffentlichung ebenfalls im Apex-Verlag.
Die Br der Edmond und Jules de Goncourt stellen in zwei B nden unterschiedliche franz sische K nstler des 18. Jahrhunderts vor. Im ersten Band werden die Maler Antoine Watteau, Jean Sim on Chardin und Fran ois Boucher behandelt. Nachdruck des Originals aus dem Jahr 1921.
Als Julia entdeckt, daß ihr Mann, ein Philosophieprofessor, sie seit langem mit Studentinnen betrügt, und er kurz darauf unter mysteriösen Umständen ums Leben kommt, gerät sie in Verdacht. Ihre beste Freundin nimmt die Suche nach dem oder der Schuldigen in die Hand. Ein unterhaltsamer, fesselnder und hintergründiger Roman. (Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine frühere Ausgabe.)
Die Serie "Meisterwerke der Literatur" beinhaltet die Klassiker der deutschen und weltweiten Literatur in einer einzigartigen Sammlung für Ihren eBook Reader. Lesen Sie die besten Werke großer Schriftsteller,Poeten, Autoren und Philosophen auf Ihrem Reader. Dieses Werk bietet zusätzlich * Eine Biografie/Bibliografie des Autors. * Digitale Überarbeitung und allerbeste Qualität * Bietet ein interaktives Inhaltsverzeichnis für einfache Orientierung. Joseph Grimaldi (* 18. Dezember 1778 in London; † 31. Mai 1837 ebenda) war der Erfinder des modernen Clowns. Grimaldis in zwei Bänden erschienene Memoiren (1838) wurden von Charles Dickens herausgegeben. Sie sind ein ergiebiges Dokument für die Geschichte der populären Bühnen in London. (aus wikipedia.de)
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Dieses Werk ist Teil der Buchreihe TREDITION CLASSICS. Der Verlag tredition aus Hamburg veröffentlicht in der Buchreihe TREDITION CLASSICS Werke aus mehr als zwei Jahrtausenden. Diese waren zu einem Großteil vergriffen oder nur noch antiquarisch erhältlich. Mit der Buchreihe TREDITION CLASSICS verfolgt tredition das Ziel, tausende Klassiker der Weltliteratur verschiedener Sprachen wieder als gedruckte Bücher zu verlegen - und das weltweit! Die Buchreihe dient zur Bewahrung der Literatur und Förderung der Kultur. Sie trägt so dazu bei, dass viele tausend Werke nicht in Vergessenheit geraten.
A priced and annotated annual record of London, New York, Montreal, Melbourne, Edinburgh and Glasgow book-auctions.

Best Books