›Moo‹ ist ein komischer, subversiver Campus-Roman über eine Ackerbau- und Viehzucht-Universität irgendwo im Mittleren Westen der USA – oder: ein Abbild der Welt im kleinen. Die Pulitzerpreisträgerin Jane Smiley verarbeitet Wissenschafts- und Gesellschaftskritik zu einer amüsanten und weitsichtigen Komödie. (Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine frühere Ausgabe.)
Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie kommen als grüne Kugel auf die Welt, Ihre Mutter nennt Sie Moo und überlässt Sie anschließend Ihrem Schicksal. Nun denken Sie vielleicht: Naja, in meiner Fantasie ist eine ganze Menge vorstellbar. Deshalb präzisieren wir die Sache mal mit der Information, dass Ihre Mutter die Kuh einer dicken Bäuerin ist, die sich verzweifelt als gottesfürchtige Trinkerin in Joes Bar engagiert. Ihr Vater allerdings bleibt unbekannt, auch wenn ein den Weg kreuzender Ochse Ansprüche erhebt und ein Sperling seine Vaterschaft nicht völlig ausschließen will. Und dann gibt es da noch die Eidechsen, tausende, die alles besser wissen, Kreuzverhören wenig zugetan sind und Ihnen die Aufgabe zuweisen, eine gewisse Mii zu finden, von der Sie absolut nichts wissen, also auch nicht, ob es eventuell besser wäre, von ihr gar nichts wissen zu wollen. In diesem Sinne, viel Glück bei der Suche. Die Insel ist ja nur 57 Kilometer lang und 22 Kilometer breit, im Großen und Ganzen aber sehr reizvoll, wie die 63 Bilder zu dieser Geschichte belegen.
Cows Minnie and Moo try to save their farm by creating seven wonders and asking the other animals for donations to see them, but there is a wondrous and frightening creature in the woods that could foil the plan.
Moo, moo, brown cow! Have you any milk? "Yes, sir, yes, sir," smooth as silk. Does milk make me sleepy before I go to bed? "Yes, sir, yes, sir," the brown cow said. There's something about this well-known and well-loved nursery rhyme! Clever new verses not found in the original offer charming new critters and gently teach young readers a little something along the way. In verses that mimic the original Baa Baa Black Sheep cadence, a plucky young boy asks each of the farm friends he encounters about the gifts they give us, all in preparation for a bedtime snack and a dream-filled sleep. And as the sun begins to set and the animals prepare to "dream the whole night through of flowers to sip, grass to chew," the little boy asks the animals one last question. Whether read aloud or sung, this picture book can be a rollicking tale or a perfect lulling bedtime story. Author Phillis Gershator and illustrator Giselle Potter weave together melodic rhyme and folksy illustrations to transport children to a place of discovery and cozy contentment in this delectable read-aloud.
Big Bill the farmer and his family use music to inspire their cows to produce more milk.
Fans of Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s Love That Dog and Hate That Cat will love her newest tween novel, Moo. This uplifting tale reminds us that if we’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. Following one family’s momentous move from the city to rural Maine, an unexpected bond develops between twelve-year-old Reena and one very ornery cow. When Reena, her little brother, Luke, and their parents first move to Maine, Reena doesn’t know what to expect. She’s ready for beaches, blueberries, and all the lobster she can eat. Instead, her parents “volunteer” Reena and Luke to work for an eccentric neighbor named Mrs. Falala, who has a pig named Paulie, a cat named China, a snake named Edna—and that stubborn cow, Zora. This heartwarming story, told in a blend of poetry and prose, reveals the bonds that emerge when we let others into our lives.
Hilda Mae Heifer has lost her melodic mi-mi-moo! A clunk on the head, and now Hilda's not sure if she should mew, oink, or honk. With the help of the animals on the farm, will Hilda once again be able to sing her sensational moo?
Mooism is an international Church of Lies, partially not devoted to non-promotion of the Law of Bull. Mooism has nothing to do with cows, we just like the sounds they make. This book talks about Mooism.
Cows Minnie and Moo masquerade as the hero Zorro in order to protect the barnyard, but the results are not quite what they intended.
Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve always done. In 2003, Seth Godin’s Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable—to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, “That’s not good enough. We need to create a big moo!” But how do you create a big moo—an insight so astounding that people can’t help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world’s best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world’s smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team—with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board—created an incredibly useful book that’s fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply. The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.
When Cow gets her hooves on the farmer's car, she takes it for a wild ride through the country. Moooo! But a bump in the road brings this joy ride to a troublesome end. Moo-moo. . . Has Cow learned her lesson about living life in the fast lane? Moo? Pairing two talented creators who managed to tell a complete story with just one word-MOO-this imaginative picture book will have readers laughing one moment and on the edge of their seats the next, as it captures the highs and lows of a mischievous cow's very exciting day.
Dr Richard Chun covers the intermediate forms and techniques of moo duk kwan taekwondo: palgwe sa chang; palgwe o chang; palgwe yook chang; kibons 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5; chulki cho dan; and bal-sek.
It's Moo's special day, and all her friends have come to play! Read along as Moo celebrates her birthday!
In this eBook with audio, the New York Times bestselling creators of Click, Clack, Moo cordially invite you to the county fair, where the talent is truly wild. Duck and his friends are at it again. But this time they’re pooling their considerable resources to win a local talent show, because the first prize is a...trampoline! The cows want to sing. The sheep want to sing. The pigs want to dance. And Duck? Duck just wants to win that trampoline. But first he’ll have to handle Farmer Brown!
It's time for Moo to go to bed, but Moo has things to do! Read along as Moo gets ready for bed in this first Moo Family book by Jean Hopkins.
Read along as Moo learns to count from one to ten, with all of her favorite things! This first Moo School book will introduce your preschooler or toddler to numbers, from 1 to 10!

Best Books