An interactive follow-up to the unique and inspiring Beautiful Oops! art activity book encourages young readers to turn every mistake into something beautiful. The friendly, frolicsome alligator from the original book guides readers through the various folded, crumpled, torn, die-cut, bent, smudged, and lift-the flap spreads, prompting them to see what beautiful art they can make out a material that many would consider trash: Finish the words on a torn piece of paper to make a poem. Turn this ink spill into a piece of art. Rip a picture out of the book, tear it into pieces, and use the scraps to create a new piece of art. The sky is the limit!
Demonstrates the many ways that torn, crinkled, and smudged bits of paper can be transformed into various shapes and images.
Demonstrates that creativity is for everyone and that with a little effort everything can be beautiful.
Andrew's creative adventure unfolds step-by-step through a sequence of flaps and gatefolds that follow his drawings as they evolve in unexpected ways, from a staircase that becomes a dinosaur to a squiggle that morphs into a giant chicken.
After visiting the eye doctor and getting fitted with glasses, Arlo the dog is able to catch the ball thrown by his owner. Includes eye chart, fold-out vision-testing machine, and four pairs of try-on glasses.
Excited about being "star of the week" at school, Stanley spends a lot of time choosing and preparing his favorite things to share, but becomes discouraged when his classmates make fun of what he likes. 20,000 first printing.
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles. From the Hardcover edition.
For everyone everywhere who has ever felt they can't take one more minute of hassle. Enough said!
A small egg appears to obey commands, until the cracking of the shell and a cheeping sound explain how it is possible, in a text with pull-tabs and a pop-up illustration.
Illustrations and rhyming text provide a means of deciding, based on such criteria as liking to wear pink or wanting to misbehave, to determine whether one would be happier as a princess or a dragon.
Stanley is excited about bringing the class pet, a bird, home for the weekend, but when his friend Larry urges him to open the cage and let Figgy out to fly, it is hard to know who is to blame for the ensuing disaster.
Given blank books by their mother, Seymour, Fiona, and Wilbur let their imaginations fly, then put their stories, poems, and pictures together in a single, shared book.
Stanley is excited about Crazy Hair Day at his school, until he discovers that he has gotten the date wrong and it is actually Class Picture Day, but his classmates come to his rescue in a show of solidarity. Jr Lib Guild. 15,000 first printing.
A touch and feel book introducing words which name textures associated with various animals such as scratchy cat, velvety cow, and rubbery fish.
Barney Saltzberg’s irrepressible and imaginative books—Good Egg, Beautiful Oops!, Arlo Needs Glasses, and A Little Bit of Oomph!, combine distinctive art, a lively spirit, and paper engineering to bring great joy to kids (and grown-ups, too). Now Barney is launching a new series of board books about a character named Redbird. With his long orange beak, red body, and friendly expression, Redbird calls to mind Dr. Seuss’s offbeat heroes and Boynton’s zany barnyard creatures, while embodying the author’s signature playful style. In Colors, Colors, Everywhere!, Redbird tries to pick his favorite color—is it red like him, blue like the sky, or yellow like the sun? Finally, he concludes: Colors, colors, everywhere! It’s hard to really choose. . . . It’s hard to really know! And that’s the reason why I love . . . the colors of the rainbow!
Spending time with Grandpa is always fun. Singling, laughing, eating, and playing. And when it's time to say goodbye, It won't be for long because He's never too far away to have tea. In this sweetly simple, rhyming picture book by acclaimed author/artist Barney Saltzberg, a little girl tells us about her daily tea ritual with her grandfather where they sing and laugh and clink their teacups with the help of their computers and a video chat. A Neal Porter Book
Illustrations and rhymes celebrate what makes each season special, from baby chicks in the spring through a snowman in the winter.
A little girl who loves cats describes their various characteristics.
Allie Velasco wants to be a trailblazer. A trendsetter. A winner. No better feeling exists in the world than stepping to the top of a winner’s podium and hoisting a trophy high in the air. At least, that’s what Allie thinks . . . she’s never actually won anything before. Everyone in her family is special in some way -- her younger sister is a rising TV star; her brother is a soccer prodigy; her great-grandfather is a Congressional Medal of Honor winner. With a family like this, Allie knows she has to make her mark or risk being left behind. She’s determined to add a shiny medal, blue ribbon, or beautiful trophy to her family’s award shelf. When a prestigious school contest is announced, Allie has the perfect opportunity to take first -- at last. There’s just one small snag . . . her biggest competition is also her ex-best friend, Sara. Can Allie take top prize and win back a friend -- or is she destined to lose it all?
Chengdu can do many things all by himself. He can get down from his branch, and he can look for breakfast. Chengdu can jump, he can push, and he can pull. He can climb, he can stretch, and he can swing. But sometimes even the most capable young panda could use a little help. Independent-minded toddlers will love following along as the determined Chengdu reaches for his goal of some tasty leaves.

Best Books