A collection of essays by some of today's top writers on the intricacies of today's stepfamilies includes Andrew Solomon's thoughts about his relationship with his stepmother, Kate Christensen's celebration of her stepfather's guidance, and Phyllis Rose's observations about her second husband's stepparent qualities. Reprint.
When Blake's grandparents die suddenly, his world collapses. Parentless and friendless, he is taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, where he meets the beautiful Annie, his employer's daughter. But Annie doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. Will he ever see her again? A gritty, emotional saga about love and second chances from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.
Benson Carver had one thing in mind, revenge. Dominguez Talley killed his brother, and he would prove it. I will escape the walls of this prison to destroy that man, and his daughter Katie will assist me. She will gladly help me when I tell her what really caused her mothers death, he grinned as the warden counted his bribery money. Although he was Katies bodyguard when she was young, he kidnapped her once before and he would do it, again. Nothing would stop him this time. Money is the root of all evil and he has plenty.
From the black soil plains of Australia to the rolling hills of England comes an uplifting tale of passion, courage and determination Alice Ferguson is eight years old when a savage bushfire tears her family apart and she is sent to live with her aunt's family in the tiny town of Billabrin. Lost and lonely, Alice finds comfort in the beauty of the outback and as her confidence grows she dreams of creating her own home and breeding the best wool in the country. Alice's strength and spirit take her from the farms of the outback to the high society of Cambridge, far from her roots and the land she loves. As tragedy strikes again, Alice must summon every ounce of her will to keep her dream alive - but nothing can prepare Alice for the treachery of her jealous cousin or the betrayal of the only man she ever loved.
An ambitious young receptionist faces more than just friendly competition, as danger threatens the Connaught Hotel... Lynda Page writes an engrossing saga in A Lucky Break, as a young woman navigates the tricky terrains of ambition and rivalry. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Kate Thompson. All Connie Monroe has ever wanted is to be a hotel receptionist. She is overjoyed, therefore, when Captain Fosedyke, the manager of the Connaught where she works as a chambermaid, gives her a lucky break and invites her to prove her worth on the reception desk. Then the inexperienced owner of the hotel, Miss Griffin, arrives to regain control of the neglected business and Connie grabs the opportunity to show how resourceful she can really be. For, despite their different backgrounds, Connie Monroe and Edelina Griffin are about to discover they have a lot in common as they fight for the survival of the hotel. But someone doesn't want them to succeed... What readers are saying about A Lucky Break: 'As the best saga and nostalgic fiction writer out there, you would expect this book to be good, and it doesn't disappoint... a strong, intrigue filled plot, this book is Lynda Page's best book yet!' 'Yet another fantastic story from Lynda Page which had me hooked from page one. Another addictive tale. Absolutely fantastic'
Terence M. Green's novels growing out of the history of his family in the last century, Shadow of Ashland and A Witness to Life, have won him much critical praise and a wide readership. Now, in St. Patrick's Bed, Green returns, at a point fifteen years later, to the story of Leo Nolan, who went to Ashland, Kentucky in search of his lost uncle, Jack Radey, and in finding him, also found a wife, Jeanne, and her young child, Adam. Leo and Jeanne have been trying for a few years to have another child. And Adam, now a young man about to leave his teens, feels the need to trace and visit his true father, who abandoned his pregnant mother before he was born. Because he loves and wants to protect Adam, Leo decides that he had better visit the man first, and so he embarks on another trip into the past, from which he returns changed again.
During WWII, Jed’s English father serves as a fighter pilot overseas, while Jed and his mother move back to her Tsimshian community on Canada's west coast. When the military sets up a naval base in town, Jed is hired to help out, honored it seems, for both his father's bravery and his own native skills as a hunter. Presented with a military jacket, Jed finds an allegiance to his country and a pride in his mixed heritage that he's never felt before. But one day Jed's world is shattered. His best friend Tadashi, along with the other members of the nearby Japanese village, are declared enemy aliens and told to prepare to leave their homes. Now Jed must ask himself where his allegiance really belongs...to his country's rigid code, or to the truth that is buried in his Tsimshian soul.
Mysterious and attractive, Clare is a wartime VAD nurse, and is engaged to Robin Claye, an army officer. On the surface Clare appears to be happy. However, will the scandalous past of her parents continue to haunt her?
Stubborn in her loyalties and passionate in her affections - Chantal is exquisite, beguiling and volatile. And it is her spirited nature that could all too easily lead the young girl astray . . . Beautiful and alluring, Chantal is adored by three men who will all risk anything to win her love. Torn from the dazzling salons and glittering balls of aristocratic London, Chantal finds herself caught in a gathering maelstrom of wild and dangerous adventure. From a mysterious chateau, to a deserted tropical island, she is swept into a whirlwind of scandal, anguish and ecstasy.
Angelina, abandoned as an infant, decided to go in search of her true identity. She meets a traveling companion, Greg; who becomes her best friend, and his Yorkie. With their help, she is led to the town of Fort Wilebrewe, a town with dark secrets, a corrupt mayor, and unknown danger for Angelina. Here she meets Dean, a handsome lawyer, and their attraction was immediate. He vows to help her, not realizing that the danger to Angelina lies close to him. Would Dean be able to protect her; or would the Beast take what he felt was his rightful claim?
The story spans nearly a hundred years. In Carlo Gebler's early childhood, his relationship with his father, Ernest, was a disaster. A man of the left, Ernest's politics had been 'hammered out in the nineteen thirties'. His early life as the son of a Jewish immigrant was spent working as a rat catcher in a cinema, snatching moments alone to educate himself, but the one with the literary talent was his second wife, Edna O'Brien - Gebler's mother - who left after Ernest claimed authorship of her work. As his father saw it, Carlo and his brother Sasha were over-fed members of the bourgeoisie, and toys and sweets were banned from their lonely childhood, filled with memories of abuse and neglect. Years later, on hearing his estranged father was now senile, Gebler made the journey to southern Ireland and through his past, through diaries that confirmed Ernest's hatred for his sons, yet also revealed the abuse Ernest in turn suffered as a young man, a life of extreme poverty and the abandonment of his first wife. This not a story that ends in hate; by the time Carlo Gebler reached their final years together, he no longer felt the anger that had dogged their relationship.
At the suggestion of a close friend, 36-year old Katherine Williamson began to write her memories down on paper. She was experiencing a troublesome period in her life stemming from a divorce from her husband of fourteen years. She found that she was at a psychological standstill and through the patience and understanding of her family, the closeness of five friends and faith in her God, Katherine was able to move on to the next phase of her life.
Months--and sometimes years--of planning go into creating the perfect wedding. But when the last piece of wedding cake is eaten and the rice is thrown, many couples realize they've not put much thought into their honeymoon. Because it's imperative to let the honeymoon and sexual relationship for a couple set the tone for their life as a couple together, two respected physicians draw from their extensive premarital counseling experiences to compile this invaluable guide of honeymoon essentials. It's all here--from birth-control options and a calendar for travel arrangements to medications to have on hand and God's design for the honeymoon. There are even ideas which will help each couple assemble a custom "honeymoon kit." Bride's Eyes Only and Groom's Eyes Only chapters offer solid advice for the sexual relationship. A one-week devotional section with daily reflections for the first week as husband and wife will help launch any marriage with the right spiritual foundation. The time couples invest in preparing for this important week of marriage and life together will reap years of rewards!
The new Stevens and Windermere novel from one of the most dazzlingly acclaimed new writers in crime fiction. The billionaire picked a heck of a way to die. On a beautiful Saturday in downtown Saint Paul, Minnesota, state investigator Kirk Stevens and FBI special agent Carla Windermere, witness the assassination of one of the state’s wealthiest men. The shooter is a young man, utterly unremarkable…except for the dead look in his eyes. And it’s only the beginning. The events of that sunny springtime day will lead Stevens and Windermere across the country, down countless blind alleys, and finally to a very flourishing twenty-first century enterprise: a high-tech murder-for-hire social media website. But just who has the dead-eyed shooter targeted next…and who’s choosing his victims?
With an introduction by the First Minister of Scotland, Nicola Sturgeon ‘Like the best memoirs, this one is written with novelistic and poetic flair. Red Dust Road is a fantastic, probing and heart-warming read’ Independent From the moment when, as a little girl, she realizes that her skin is a different colour from that of her beloved mum and dad, to the tracing and finding of her birth parents, her Highland mother and Nigerian father, Jackie Kay’s journey in Red Dust Road is one of unexpected twists, turns and deep emotions. In a book remarkable for its warmth and candour, she discovers that inheritance is about much more than genes: that we are shaped by songs as much as by cells, and that what triumphs, ultimately, is love.

Best Books