In the world's most dangerous trouble spots, a small band of men risk their lives to fly in desperately needed aid. But they are not heroes. Their giant ex-Soviet cargo planes are also riddled with secret compartments, which they fill with drugs, guns, money or people. They deliver anywhere, and they rtake their cut. But they pay a heavy price, many losing their lives to gun-toting pirates, terrorists, hostile state forces, jealous competitors and alcohol. In Outlaws Inc. Matt Potter follows their incredible story around the world. He discovers a secret society of mercenaries, dictators, agents, gangsters, businessmen and real-life Bond villains. Updated for the paperback edition, this story is the stuff of spy thrillers and action movies, but all the more terrifying for being true. 'Outlaws Inc. is an explosive read, full of heart-thumping excitement and brilliant detective work which shines a light into the darkest corners of the world' Sean Rayment, author of Bomb Hunters
A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell—an exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.
The Lone Star State is known for producing vicious outlaws like Machine Gun Kelly. While Kelly terrorized urban civilians, lawmen such as Ranger John Barclay Armstrong tried to keep things under control. This is the story of Texas's most famous criminals, intrepid lawmen, and others, such as James Edwin Reed, who dared to be both. This reference captures the Western spirit in all of us and brings to life a time before the West was tamed. Also included is a chronology of well-known crimes and a locale list of notorious events. The criteria for inclusion in this book was that each outlaw had to have been involved in at least two gunfights or robberies.
Set to the folktune, Shortnin Bread, the Read-and-Sing book, Outlaws, helps children learn to recognize and spell words that do not follow short and long vowel rules. For example, one rule states that a single vowel in the middle of a word is usually short. Exceptions-told, cold, hold. Another rule states that the first vowel in 2-vowel words is usually long. Exceptions: bread, thread, head. Comical illustrations show children how to recognize outlaw gangs in words by noticing the vowels and letters that follow.
Relates the history of the lawmen and outlaws who played an integral part in the building of the American West.
Forget what you might think about outlaws, Broccoli Bob and his friends are the good guys, nutritionally and otherwise. When trouble starts brewing in the Broccoli Patch, Bob heads for Vegeville to seek the help of the other Organic Outlaws. Along the way, you'll meet Carrot Cassidy, Psychic Celery, and a host of others in this fun-filled vegetable western. Author Karyn Drum struggled to raise her three children organically back in the day when organic vegetables were hard to find. That, along with her southwestern roots and love for all things silly, combined to create the Organic Outlaws. Now an elementary art teacher, she has found her true calling celebrating children's imaginations in many interesting and entertaining ways. She lives with her mad scientist husband and beautiful daughters in Carrboro, North Carolina.
She survived her own hanging. Left to die by her outlaw brother and his gang, Jessy Belle Perkins gets a second chance at life..and runs. She doesn't count on being rescued by handsome Cleeland Redd, a former cavalry scout who is nothing like the rank, filthy outlaws she's accustomed to. But can she trust him with the truth about who she is? When Redd leaves her at a rundown convent, she realizes that if her outlaw brother returns for the pearls hidden in the hem of her dress, the man she loves and the nuns who have given her shelter will be in grave danger. He stole her heart. Still mourning his late wife, Cleeland Redd guards his heart against the suspicious but lovely woman he finds lost and unable to speak. When he learns her secret, he decides a fake marriage will be just the thing to draw Jessy Belle's brother into a trap. But if he puts her brother behind bars, he might lose Jessy Belle for good--and forever destroy the hope of their pretend marriage turning into the real thing.
An outlaw risks life and limb to return a stolen horse to its rightful owner in this classic Western thriller. Shannon, a mysterious outsider, arrived some time ago to the town of Lister and settled into a secluded valley far outside of town. During one of his trips to buy supplies, Shannon came across a horse, seemingly dying on his feet, with wounds and a frail body, who was struggling near death. Having a way with animals, and with patience and tender care, Shannon restored the horse to good health. But when the outlaw Terry Shawn races into Shannon’s valley with the sheriff and a posse hot on his trail, he grabs Shannon’s new horse to make his getaway. Despite his profession, Terry is a kind-hearted man, one who often steals from the rich to give to the poor. When Terry later hears that this magnificent horse he once “borrowed” is now back with his original cruel owner, he’s willing to risk his own capture to right things and somehow return this horse to Shannon. A captivating tale of honor among thieves, Valley of Outlaws is the tale of a loner with a troubled soul and a haunted past, who will compel an outlaw to risk his life for the things he believes in. Skyhorse Publishing is proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction that takes place in the old West. Westerns—books about outlaws, sheriffs, chiefs and warriors, cowboys and Indians—are a genre in which we publish regularly. Our list includes international bestselling authors like Zane Gray and Louis L’Amour, and many more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
A Civil War veteran and widower struggles to keep his children alive in a pair of classic Western tales. Things looked dark for Emery Bandine when he returned to Spanish Crossing from fighting in the Civil War. Conditions in Texas were so harsh that he could barely feed his family. He started to gather a stake by rounding up unbranded cattle in the brush country, but he couldn’t afford to pay for medical care for his young wife, and she died while bearing her third child. Bandine is left with two children and swears that no matter what he has to do, he won’t let them grow up to face the same poverty. But how can he fight the Union occupation forces and at the same time protect his children? Outlaws of the Brasada is accompanied by one of Savage’s finest short stories, “Gunstorm Ghost,” a chilling tale of a gunfighter with his back against the wall. Due to his preference for historical accuracy, Savage often ran into problems with book editors in the 1950s who were concerned about marriages between his protagonists and women of different races—a commonplace on the real frontier but not in much Western fiction of that decade. This edition of Outlaws of the Brasada fully restores Savage’s original text. Skyhorse Publishing is proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction that takes place in the old West. Westerns—books about outlaws, sheriffs, chiefs and warriors, cowboys and Indians—are a genre in which we publish regularly. Our list includes international bestselling authors like Zane Gray and Louis L’Amour, and many more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
Introduces twelve different pirates, criminals, and bloodthirsty leaders from history, including Blackbeard and Eric the Red, Vlad the Impaler and Attila the Hun, and Robin Hood and William Tell, and discusses who the victor would be in battle.
True-crime stories of women who robbed, cheated, and killed This compelling volume is packed with shocking true-crime tales and stunning photographs of women who robbed, kidnapped, and killed their way through history, all taken from the remarkable archives of TIME and Life magazines.
A Study Guide for Selma Lagerlof's "The Outlaws," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Short Stories for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Short Stories for Students for all of your research needs.

Best Books