In the world's most dangerous trouble spots, a small band of men risk their lives to fly in desperately needed aid. But they are not heroes. Their giant ex-Soviet cargo planes are also riddled with secret compartments, which they fill with drugs, guns, money or people. They deliver anywhere, and they rtake their cut. But they pay a heavy price, many losing their lives to gun-toting pirates, terrorists, hostile state forces, jealous competitors and alcohol. In Outlaws Inc. Matt Potter follows their incredible story around the world. He discovers a secret society of mercenaries, dictators, agents, gangsters, businessmen and real-life Bond villains. Updated for the paperback edition, this story is the stuff of spy thrillers and action movies, but all the more terrifying for being true. 'Outlaws Inc. is an explosive read, full of heart-thumping excitement and brilliant detective work which shines a light into the darkest corners of the world' Sean Rayment, author of Bomb Hunters
A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell—an exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.
The Lone Star State is known for producing vicious outlaws like Machine Gun Kelly. While Kelly terrorized urban civilians, lawmen such as Ranger John Barclay Armstrong tried to keep things under control. This is the story of Texas's most famous criminals, intrepid lawmen, and others, such as James Edwin Reed, who dared to be both. This reference captures the Western spirit in all of us and brings to life a time before the West was tamed. Also included is a chronology of well-known crimes and a locale list of notorious events. The criteria for inclusion in this book was that each outlaw had to have been involved in at least two gunfights or robberies.
Set to the folktune, Shortnin Bread, the Read-and-Sing book, Outlaws, helps children learn to recognize and spell words that do not follow short and long vowel rules. For example, one rule states that a single vowel in the middle of a word is usually short. Exceptions-told, cold, hold. Another rule states that the first vowel in 2-vowel words is usually long. Exceptions: bread, thread, head. Comical illustrations show children how to recognize outlaw gangs in words by noticing the vowels and letters that follow.
Sie kiffen, klauen, hängen ab. Der Anführer Zarco, der allen Angst einjagt, die verführerische Tere mit den grausam grünen Augen, und all die anderen, die kein Zuhause haben. Als Ignacio dazustößt, werden aus Kleinkriminellen bewaffnete Gangster. Banküberfälle, Nutten und harte Drogen sind jetzt ihr Alltag. Dann gibt es den ersten Toten, und Ignacio weiß: wenn er leben will, muss er aussteigen, auch wenn er die schöne Tere nie wiedersehen wird. Jahre später treffen sie sich vor Gericht wieder: Zarco als Angeklagter und Ignacio als Strafverteidiger. Aufwühlend und sehr einfühlsam erzählt Javier Cercas von den zerrissenen Freundschaften einer verlorenen Jugend in Spanien.
Relates the history of the lawmen and outlaws who played an integral part in the building of the American West.
True-crime stories of women who robbed, cheated, and killed This compelling volume is packed with shocking true-crime tales and stunning photographs of women who robbed, kidnapped, and killed their way through history, all taken from the remarkable archives of TIME and Life magazines.
Forget what you might think about outlaws, Broccoli Bob and his friends are the good guys, nutritionally and otherwise. When trouble starts brewing in the Broccoli Patch, Bob heads for Vegeville to seek the help of the other Organic Outlaws. Along the way, you'll meet Carrot Cassidy, Psychic Celery, and a host of others in this fun-filled vegetable western. Author Karyn Drum struggled to raise her three children organically back in the day when organic vegetables were hard to find. That, along with her southwestern roots and love for all things silly, combined to create the Organic Outlaws. Now an elementary art teacher, she has found her true calling celebrating children's imaginations in many interesting and entertaining ways. She lives with her mad scientist husband and beautiful daughters in Carrboro, North Carolina.
Introduces twelve different pirates, criminals, and bloodthirsty leaders from history, including Blackbeard and Eric the Red, Vlad the Impaler and Attila the Hun, and Robin Hood and William Tell, and discusses who the victor would be in battle.
History is written by the winners. It's the faithful servants, the insiders, the ones who stick around, who can adapt to almost any condition that get to write the official histories. They publish the memoirs, park in the directors' spots, erect the statues, form the new governments, wipe out the pockets of resistance, recruit the new starters, set the agendas, talk on the documentaries and retrospectives. Yet theirs - the official version - is never the whole story. The quitter's tale offers a far more compelling, and often a more honest version of history. The Last Goodbye, Matt Potter collects the pithiest, angriest, most hilarious messages of resignation throughout history, including those whose exits were a springboard to eventual success, such as Steve Jobs, George Orwell and Charlie Sheen.It's full of self-deception, bloody knives, betrayal, honour, disgrace, disgust, thwarted ambition and shattered hopes, and sometimes a wicked sting in the tail . . .
Dramatic crimes in western Canada are detailed, including the stories of Jess Williams, in 1884 the first man hanged in Calgary; Almighty Voice, whose murder of a policeman in 1895 caused six other deaths; BC's Henry Wagner, hanged so quickly that he set a world record; and many others. The book includes 80 photographs and maps.
A tormented, passionate woman with one piercing grey eye, Kristopher Silverheart is a major thorn in the side of the Elect, Earth’s increasingly oppressive religious rulers. Once one of their own, she is now an Outcast, one of the Fallen, someone who has strayed from the Just Path and must either repent or be destroyed. Unbowed and undaunted, Silverheart captains a band of Outlaws who make regular forays from their refuge on the planet Hafwei to liberate as many Outcasts as they can from persecution, imprisonment and death. Constantly by Silverheart’s side is the beautiful and ethereal Heaven, her beloved companion, with whom she has a mysterious and unbreakable bond. When Heaven is kidnapped, Silverheart embarks on a reckless solo rescue mission into the heart of the enemy’s stronghold to bring her back.
A Study Guide for Selma Lagerlof's "The Outlaws," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Short Stories for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Short Stories for Students for all of your research needs.

Best Books