Incorporating seven years of photography and research, Krista Schlyer portrays life along the Anacostia River, a Washington, DC, waterway rich in history and biodiversity that has nonetheless lingered for years in obscurity and neglect in our nation’s capital. River of Redemption offers an experience of the river that reveals its eons of natural history, centuries of destruction, and decades of restoration efforts. The story of the Anacostia echoes the story of rivers across America. Inspired by Aldo Leopold’s classic book, A Sand County Almanac, Krista Schlyer evokes a consciousness of time and place, taking readers through the seasons in the watershed as well as through the river’s complex history and ecology. As with rivers nationwide, the ways we’ve changed the Anacostia affect the people and wildlife that inhabit its shores, from the headwaters in Maryland, past its confluence with the Potomac River, and ultimately to the Chesapeake Bay. Centuries of abuse at the hands of people who have altered the landscape and mistreated the waterway have transformed it into a polluted, toxic soup unfit for swimming or fishing. The forgotten river is both a reminder of the worst humanity can do to the natural landscape and a wellspring of memory that offers a roadmap back to health and well-being for watershed residents, human and non-human alike. Blending stunning photography with informative and poignant text, River of Redemption offers the opportunity to reinvent our role in urban ecology and to redeem our relationship with this national river and watersheds nationwide.
meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"meta name="ProgId" content="Word.Document"meta name="Generator" content="Microsoft Word 11"meta name="Originator" content="Microsoft Word 11"link rel="File-List" href="file:///C:%5CDOCUME%7E1%5CAYoung%5CLOCALS%7E1%5CTemp%5Cmsohtml1%5C01%5Cclip_filelist.xml"!--[if gte mso 9] Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 ![endif]--!--[if gte mso 9] ![endif]--!--[if gte mso 10] ![endif]-- In this daring debut, Mr. Young sketches a portrait of an idealized, and unfortunately too uncommon journey to redemption, which is advanced as the blueprint for both the would-be proselyte and the would-be proselytizer. Our nameless narrator, who brings an open but critical perspective, ponders the deep questions of life as he searches along the River for truth, meaning, purpose, and ultimately, a new beginning. Accompanied by a compassionate and insightful Christian who uniquely understands the true significance of the River and the Road, he faces intellectual and moral challenges from diverse directions that threaten his worldview. Interwoven with the gospel themes (both false and true) are a number of other encounters with angels, skeptics, seekers, temptresses, and travelers with a variety of religious viewpoints. The allegory, illuminating and penetrating—through stressing the fundamental notion of salvation from sin (not only its consequences)—aims to undercut some of the most prevalent misconceptions of the gospel message today. The result is a narrative that will both delight and educate, is both ponderous and free-flowing, and will both entrench Christians in some of their most beloved doctrines and challenge the very foundations of their theology.
Poet and writer Alison Deming once noted, “In the desert, one finds the way by tracing the aftermath of water . . . ” Here, Ken Lamberton finds his way through a lifetime of exploring southern Arizona’s Santa Cruz River. This river—dry, still, and silent one moment, a thundering torrent of mud the next—serves as a reflection of the desert around it: a hint of water on parched sand, a path to redemption across a thirsty landscape. With his latest book, Lamberton takes us on a trek across the land of three nations—the United States, Mexico, and the Tohono O’odham Nation—as he hikes the river’s path from its source and introduces us to people who draw identity from the river—dedicated professionals, hardworking locals, and the author’s own family. These people each have their own stories of the river and its effect on their lives, and their narratives add immeasurable richness and depth to Lamberton’s own astute observations and picturesque descriptions. Unlike books that detail only the Santa Cruz’s decline, Dry River offers a more balanced, at times even optimistic, view of the river that ignites hope for reclamation and offers a call to action rather than indulging in despair and resignation. At once a fascinating cultural history lesson and an important reminder that learning from the past can help us fix what we have damaged, Dry River is both a story about the amazing complexity of this troubled desert waterway and a celebration of one man’s lifelong journey with the people and places touched by it.
The true story of the iconic life of Soul Music inventor Sam Cooke, and his untimely, tragic murder in 1964, covered up by authorities and music business alike for nearly half a century.
Seit Jahren lebt Mary zurückgezogen auf ihrem großzügigen Anwesen oberhalb von Mill River. Nur Priester Michael besucht sie und erzählt ihr vom Leben in der quirligen Stadt: Von dem verwitweten Polizisten, der mit seiner kleinen Tochter aus der Großstadt geflüchtet ist, von der Krankenschwester, die ihre Familie mühselig über Wasser hält, und von der ungewöhnlichen Daisy, die in ihrem Wohnwagen geheimnisvolle Kräutertees braut. Niemand ahnt, welches Leid Mary erlebt hat. Aber als sie tödlich erkrankt, beginnt sie mit der Suche nach ihrer Tochter.
Hunter James didn't want or need redemption. Until one mission turns his world upside down. He left Mercy to fight for his country and escape a broken heart. Years later, he is hard. Cold. A man without mercy. Part of an elite Task Force, he tracks a brutal terrorist to his home town. And runs into the woman who betrayed him... Evangeline Videl was destroyed when Hunter left. Determined to move on, she finds another man, but discovers too late the monster hidden beneath his smooth smile. Struggling to find the conviction to live, Evie finds her life spinning out of control. Then Hunter returns... Forced to band together to find the terrorist before its too late, Hunter and Evie must learn to forgive or risk losing the promise of redemption and their lives...
This user-friendly guide will help students of the 'Star' to be able to discuss at a basic level what, at least conceptually, Rosenzweig intended to say and how all that he says is interrelated.
Orphaned in the cholera epidemic of 1833, Adria Starr was cared for by a slave named Louis, a man who stayed in Springfield, Kentucky, when anyone with means had fled. A man who passed up the opportunity to escape his bondage and instead tended to the sick and buried the dead. A man who, twelve years later, is being sold by his owners despite his heroic actions. Now nineteen, Adria has never forgotten what Louis did for her. She's determined to find a way to buy Louis's freedom. But in 1840s Kentucky, she'll face an uphill battle. Based partly on a true story, Ann H. Gabhart's latest historical novel is a tour de force. The vividly rendered town of Springfield and its citizens immerse readers in a story of courage, betrayal, and honor that will stick with them long after they turn the last page.
New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters—spirited Rose and shy Emily—in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselves—until a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart. Years later, Josie’s still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mother’s will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters’ reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mother’s final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the search—discovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them. Praise for The Mill River Redemption “Delving into the complicated roles of siblings, parents, and neighbors, [Darcie] Chan gives each Mill River character a powerful role in refining and influencing these dynamics.”—New York Journal of Books “Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mother’s love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive.”—Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion “Readers looking for a feel-good book about small towns and family bonds won’t be disappointed by Chan’s latest.”—Kirkus Reviews “An engrossing page-turner, reeling readers in further with each layer that’s revealed . . . a satisfying read with sympathetic and relatable characters that will be good for book group discussions and vacation reading.”—Library Journal “Charming . . . compelling . . . Slow reveals and dramatic twists proliferate.”—Booklist Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Faith and warm memories have helped widow Kitty Wainwright endure the loss of her husband. That's all she's ever needed…until she hires contractor Jace Carter to repair her motel. Kitty has no idea the silent, scarred Jace has admired her since they set eyes on each other. Although Kitty's wary of letting anyone into her heart, Jace can't ignore his feelings for her. But with old secrets threatening to ruin his future happiness, Jace has to put his past to rest before he can convince Kitty that she belongs by his side.
Ein Junge wartet mit einer Waffe auf den Mann, der seine Mutter getötet hat. Eine Polizistin, die in Schwierigkeiten steckt, wird nach einer brutalen Schießerei mit ihrer Vergangenheit konfrontiert. Nach dreizehn Jahren im Gefängnis wird ein Polizist in die Freiheit entlassen - doch für wie lange? John Hart beschreibt eine Stadt am Abgrund. Ihre Einwohner scheinen alle auf der Straße der Verdammnis unterwegs zu sein. Voller Geheimnisse, Verrat und nervenzerfetzender Spannung: Mit seinem neuen Buch beweist John Hart, dass er ein Meister des Thrillers aus den Südstaaten der USA ist.

Best Books