Bestselling author Michael Shermer delves into the unknown, from heretical ideas about the boundaries of the universe to Star Trek's lessons about chance and time A scientist pretends to be a psychic for a day-and fools everyone. An athlete discovers that good-luck rituals and getting into "the zone" may, or may not, improve his performance. A historian decides to analyze the data to see who was truly responsible for the Bounty mutiny. A son explores the possiblities of alternative and experimental medicine for his cancer-ravaged mother. And a skeptic realizes that it is time to turn the skeptical lens onto science itself. In each of the fourteen essays in Science Friction, psychologist and science historian Michael Shermer explores the very personal barriers and biases that plague and propel science, especially when scientists push against the unknown. What do we know and what do we not know? How does science respond to controversy, attack, and uncertainty? When does theory become accepted fact? As always, Shermer delivers a thought-provoking, fascinating, and entertaining view of life in the scientific age.
When Cooper takes Kevin to a science fiction convention, one of the props starts spewing out mini-aliens, and Kevin, Ben, and Gwen must stop the tiny pests and save the convention goers.
Meet Vaxy the pine marten. He's a graduate student at sunny Hoffridge U., where he helps Dr. Forrest with teaching, lab work, and getting his pants off whenever things are slow. Meet Mike the rabbit. He's Vaxy's roommate and not-boyfriend, and he certainly wouldn't have any reason to be jealous of Vaxy sleeping with someone else. If he found out. Meet Grace the fennec. He's a student, a friend of Vaxy and Mike who holds the firm belief that sex is just sex and shouldn't be mistaken for a relationship. Yes, it's just another semester at "Hot Fudge U.," where the sex is as hot and easy as a day at the beach. Vaxy and his friends have most of another year to go before they have to worry about that "real world" thing they've heard about. Now meet Mrs. Forrest. She's Dr. Forrest's wife. Written by Kyell Gold Cover art and interior illustrations by Cirrus
Designed to provide the ideal solution for teaching junior science, New Star Science 4 books are aimed at the fourth primary school year. These teacher's notes provide a background to the unit as well as photocopiables and assessment material. The focus of this text is friction.
That science is not always an entirely serious matter, or at least may appear on first or second glance not to be, is demonstrated by this compilation of the most witty and thought-provoking titles from the biomedical literature. Professor Berrens' perusal of article titles in biomedical databases has brought to light numerous examples of double entendres, intentional or unintentional puns, and apparently absent-minded or narrow-minded goofs that simply make you grin (or groan). His friend and collaborator Walther Eijkelestam then brought his well-sharpened pencil to bear, and has provided the titles with a suitably pointed visual commentary in the form of expressive and cleanly executed cartoons. This entertaining book will provide a little light relief for all those working in science, as well as reminding them to perhaps think twice before deciding on a title for their latest (serious) work.
Top Gear’s Richard Hammond is in the driving seat for this turbo-charged tour through the nuts and bolts of car technology. Underneath the bonnet of every car there’s a lot of fast, furious, and spectacular science going on. G-force, combustion, power, you name it, a car’s got it. Help your child discover all about the science of cars in this explosive tour. Find out how cars revolutionised the world, see how a car functions with jaw-dropping diagrams, cutaway drawings and cool graphics. Steer to the fundamental science behind the mechanics and then sit back for an exciting look into the future of minimal emissions, maximum fun. PLUS, find great things your child will love to make and do!
Flabbergast: Science Friction is the Moonbeam Award winning graphic novel that follows the adventures of a Kung-Fu Science Adventure Team as they battle zombies and robots, travel to another dimension for training, and save the land from the threat of evil. Fans of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Fantastic Four, Avatar: the Last Airbender, and Naruto have a hard time putting this thrill filled book down.
"Should have broad appeal in many kinds of industry, ranging from automotive to computers—basically any organization concerned with products having moving parts!" —David A. Rigney, Materials Science and Engineering Department, Ohio State University, Columbus, USA In-Depth Coverage of Frictional Concepts Friction affects so many aspects of daily life that most take it for granted. Arguably, mankind’s attempt to control friction dates back to the invention of the wheel. Friction Science and Technology: From Concepts to Applications, Second Edition presents a broad, multidisciplinary overview of the constantly moving field of friction, spanning the history of friction studies to the evolution of measurement instruments. It reviews the gamut of friction test methods, ranging from simple inclined plans to sophisticated laboratory tribometers. The book starts with introductory concepts about friction and progressively delves into the more subtle fundamentals of surface contact, use of various lubricants, and specific applications such as brakes, piston rings, and machine components. Includes American Society of Testing and Management (ASTM) Standards This volume covers multiple facets of friction, with numerous interesting and unusual examples of friction-related technologies not found in other tribology books. These include: Friction in winter sports Friction of touch and human skin Friction of footware and biomaterials Friction drilling of metals Friction of tires and road surfaces Describing the tools of the trade for friction research, this edition enables engineers to purchase or build their own devices. It also discusses frictional behavior of a wide range of materials, coatings, and surface treatments, both traditional and advanced, such as thermally oxidized titanium alloys, nanocomposites, ultra-low friction films, laser-dimpled ceramics, and carbon composites. Even after centuries of study, friction continues to conceal its subtle origins, especially in practical engineering situations in which surfaces are exposed to complex and changing environments. Authored by a field specialist with more than 30 years of experience, this one-stop resource discusses all aspects of friction, from its humble beginnings to its broad application for modern engineers.
Readers may never expect that they might free fall to Earth, but if they have ever dived into a pool, that's exactly what they've done. This book shows readers how Newton's three laws of motion affect divers, skydivers, and mountain climbers' movements. Readers discover who uses gravity, and who works against it, and all other forces that contribute to a successful dive or climb. After reading this book, readers can decide if they will ever be interested in engaging in one of these extreme sports.
"Australian curiculum science-foundation to year 7 is a series of books written specifically to support the national curriculum. Science literary texts introduce concepts and are supported by practical hands-on activities, predominately experiments."--Foreword.
Daily discoveries with science centers! Activities for the Science Center helps students in grade 2 explore concepts in life science, earth science, and physical science through hands-on experiments. It also explains the scientific principles behind each
Written by experienced and internationally renowned contributors, this is the fourth edition of what has become the standard reference for cosmetic scientists and dermatologists seeking the latest innovations and technology for the formulation, design, testing, use, and production of cosmetic products for skin, hair, and nails. New to this fourth edition are chapters on dermatocosmetic vehicles, surface film, causes and measurement of skin aging, make-up products, skin healing, cosmetics in sports, cosmetotextiles, nutricosmetics, natural ingredients, cosmeceuticals, and regulatory vigilance.
These superb essays focus on the role that culture, and particularly literature, has played in keeping the spirit of intellectual independence alive in Eastern and Central Europe. Exploring a variety of issues from censorship to underground poetry, Baranczak shows why, in societies where people struggle to survive under totalitarian rule, art is believed to have the power to make things happen.
Foster science learning with quick, fun, meaningful activities for kindergarten through 6th grade. Increase students' excitement about science, deepen content knowledge, and enhance science skills. The activities are easy to set up, require minimal materials, and are flexible enough to use at any time of day. Charts help you select activities by title, grade level, Morning Meeting component, science content, science standards addressed, and science discipline (physical sciences; life sciences; Earth and space sciences; and engineering, technology, and applications of science). For each of the 150 activities you will get: brief, easy-to-follow directions; open-ended questions to help students reflect on their learning; science content and standards covered; key scientific vocabulary to reinforce; ideas for variations and extensions (when applicable).
A collection of science experiments.
An Updated Edition of the Classic Text Polymers constitute the basis for the plastics, rubber, adhesives,fiber, and coating industries. The Fourth Edition of Introductionto Physical Polymer Science acknowledges the industrial success ofpolymers and the advancements made in the field while continuing todeliver the comprehensive introduction to polymer science that madeits predecessors classic texts. The Fourth Edition continues its coverage of amorphous andcrystalline materials, glass transitions, rubber elasticity, andmechanical behavior, and offers updated discussions of polymerblends, composites, and interfaces, as well as such basics asmolecular weight determination. Thus, interrelationships amongmolecular structure, morphology, and mechanical behavior ofpolymers continue to provide much of the value of the book. Newly introduced topics include: * Nanocomposites, including carbon nanotubes and exfoliatedmontmorillonite clays * The structure, motions, and functions of DNA and proteins, aswell as the interfaces of polymeric biomaterials with livingorganisms * The glass transition behavior of nano-thin plastic films In addition, new sections have been included on fire retardancy,friction and wear, optical tweezers, and more. Introduction to Physical Polymer Science, Fourth Edition providesboth an essential introduction to the field as well as an entrypoint to the latest research and developments in polymer scienceand engineering, making it an indispensable text for chemistry,chemical engineering, materials science and engineering, andpolymer science and engineering students and professionals.

Best Books