What happens in Vegas... When Georgie discovers that her fiancé has been cheating on her, only a few days before her cousin’s wedding, her whole world explodes. Facing a romantic trip to Vegas alone, she decides to go out and have some fun...
Excerpt from An Accidental Honeymoon I didn't scream because I was afraid. I stumbled and - and I thought I saw an eel in that pool, ready to bite me. Eels do bite. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
"[...]begin to melt. “If you're sure you're very sorry——” “I'm in the dust,” he evaded. “Then—all right.” She smiled a little, but with caution—he should not be allowed to think himself too easily restored to favor. “I frightened you, didn't I? And you ought to have been frightened. But to show you I trust you now, I'll use[...]".
Dreitausendeinhundertzwanzig Postkarten mit romantischen Gedichten hat Gabe Alexander seiner Frau Pearl im Lauf ihrer Ehe geschrieben. Eine pro Woche. Jeden Freitag. Sechzig Jahre lang. Inzwischen ist Gabe tot, und Pearl leidet an Demenz. Doch die Geschichte ihrer Liebe lebt weiter - durch die Postkarten, die eines Tages dem Immobilienmakler Adam Colby in die Hände fallen. Stück für Stück rekonstruiert Adam, selbst frisch geschieden und vom Leben enttäuscht, die Geschichte von Gabe und Pearl, um so dem Geheimnis ewiger Liebe auf die Spur zu kommen... Ein zauberhafter Roman über die Magie der Liebe.
Cinema has been long associated with France, dating back to 1895, when Louis and Auguste Lumi_re screened their works, the first public viewing of films anywhere. Early silent pioneers Georges MZli_s, Alice Guy BlachZ and others followed in the footsteps of the Lumi_re brothers and the tradition of important filmmaking continued throughout the 20th century and beyond. In Encyclopedia of French Film Directors, Philippe Rège identifies every French director who has made at least one feature film since 1895. From undisputed masters to obscure one-timers, nearly 3,000 directors are cited here, including at least 200 filmmakers not mentioned in similar books published in France. Each director's entry contains a brief biographical summary, including dates and places of birth and death; information on the individual's education and professional training; and other pertinent details, such as real names (when the filmmaker uses a pseudonym). The entries also provide complete filmographies, including credits for feature films, shorts, documentaries, and television work. Some of the most important names in the history of film can be found in this encyclopedia, from masters of the Golden Age_Jean Renoir and RenZ Clair_to French New Wave artists such as Fran_ois Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard.
Every Friday, a postcard. Every Friday, a love poem. Every Friday for sixty years. Adam Colby is just doing his job, sorting through the unsold Alexander belongings after the estate sale. He is unprepared for what he finds in an old photo album, overlooked by the bargain hounds and treasure hunters—six decades of postcards and poems from Gabe Alexander to his wife, Pearl. The mystery of the Alexanders’ love entices Adam, a man unhinged by divorce and puzzled by the depth of commitment that he finds in the unabashedly romantic cards. Forever Friday invites you to travel back in time to the early twentieth century Texas Coastal Bend where a young couple—Gabe and Pearl Alexander—are swept up in a miraculous love. As the heartwarming, pulse-quickening story of their relationship develops through Gabe’s poems, the Alexanders reveal a new way to consider what it means to be truly devoted to each other. Could the secrets of their love affair, laid to rest twenty years ago, hold the key to one man’s future? From the Trade Paperback edition.
A practical guide for those struggling to build a community of believers in a culture that wants to experience belonging over believingWho is my neighbor? Who belongs to me? To whom do I belong? These are timeless questions that guide the church to its fundamental calling. Today terms like neighbor, family, and congregation are being redefined. People are searching to belong in new places and experiences. The church needs to adapt its interpretations, definitions, and language to make sense in the changing culture.This book equips congregations and church leaders with tools to: • Discern the key ingredients people look for in community • Understand the use of space as a key element for experiencing belonging and community • Develop the “chemical compound” that produces an environment for community to spontaneously emerge • Discover how language promotes specific spatial belonging and then use this knowledge to build an effective vocabulary for community development • Create an assessment tool for evaluating organizational and personal community health
He's just too irresistible! Harry Worthington is struggling to fulfill his two roles in life—single dad and full-time E.R. consultant. The issue is he's just too irresistible—his nannies can't help falling for him! But Harry wouldn't have that problem with Marnie Johnson. The nurse unit manager is too smart to fall for Bayside's inadvertent Romeo! Agreeing to move in, temporarily, to plug his child-care gap is a strictly practical arrangement. Surely she knows him well enough to keep a clear head, a hard heart and a closed bedroom door…?
A science fiction, comedy, and romance, based on some true events and not so true facts. Monty has a goal to travel to the moon. He meets Olivia, a girl, and falls in love with her at first glance, causing him to change all of his plans. Now, Monty's plan is to marry Olivia, and take her on a Honeymoon on the Moon. When Olivia’s family finds out Monty is a man who drives around a truck and trailer for living, looking for scrap metal to pick up, they are against the marriage. He has to meet and survive her brutal family, make her his bride, and convince her to board the rocket, if he wants to make it to the moon in six days, landing on Saturday, August 21st, at 2:00 PM.
On Top of Beacon Hill presents a homecoming of art and philosophy in verse. Powered in the tradition of existential thought, the phenomenological composition seeks to transport readers to the fertile and authentic realm of elemental being through a rare blend of Eastern, Western, and indigenous styles. Learn how to express your emotions fearlessly, and with excellent distinction. Make your spiritual ends meet, gloriously, inducing shamanic-trained impeccability from your actions, and appreciating, most intimately, the causal force of eternity, Nietzsche’s “eternal recurrence.” Packaged tightly with semantics, but never shackled by them, the poems explore some classic topical clashes within Eastern and Western thought. But in a word: a simple yet austere program to power, to cognitively fill out the authority of your sensory capacity, indeed, philosophically pioneering the mental charge of emotions—not governing but engaging them—like hound dogs leading the hunt, as we sow raw and timeless seeds On Top of Beacon Hill. Language is Contradiction In time, language seeks negation dialectically, as the right leg seeks the left for movement. In the utilization to articulate ideas, contradictions become apparent, because correspondence is a stack of letters, cogently fashioned from wild thoughts for fermentation of domestication. Language exists now, yet requires structural reflection and afterthought, both of which are peripheral thoughts in Platonic forms of thinking inside immediacy. And that which seems coupled from a distance (here vernacular forms with immediacy) defines via contradistinction. So, language is the nativity of dialectics, since it is acting definition, plus possession: clutching at building materials, some sentimental reflection of yesteryear, and the flux of the thoughts of the morrow ...
The New York Times best-selling author of The Traitor's Wife fictionalizes the little-known and tumultuous love story of “Sisi,” the 19th-century Austro-Hungarian empress and captivating wife of Emperor Franz Joseph.
London 1940. Troubled cabbie and part-time musician Ace Hooker is facing up to the prospect of doing his bit as a volunteer fireman. Haunted by his father's execution for cowardice during the First World War, Ace soon gets more than he bargained for when the Blitz starts. One night of fear and passion leads to lifelong consequences in this narrative of loyalty and loss, love and bitterness, against a backdrop of war and a love of jazz.
What would you do if you suddenly found yourself turned into a mermaid? Or a legendary wielder of Force powers? This is the story of Hannah and her fiance Alex after they and thousands of others have their normal lives changed by a cursed shaman's mask.
When Nash Renfrew wakes in the bed of lovely Maddy Woodford, he thinks he's dreaming. Then he learns of his accident and the loss of his memory. But when it returns, Nash has no desire to leave Maddy's side and continues pretending he has amnesia. With each passing day, Nash's attraction to Maddy grows. But he's a diplomat and she's just a country girl. How can he even entertain thoughts of seducing her?
~One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2014" A headlong flight across London to stop an elopement leads to a hasty wedding between strangers....A sizzling new romance for fans of Sarah MacLean and Elizabeth Hoyt. Harold Rayburn is about to be taken for the ride of his life… After having his proposal rejected by a beautiful but flighty woman, Harry vows he is done with unpredictable and impetuous women for good. Until beautiful and fierce Leannah Wakefield barrels into his life, inadvertently kidnapping him while on a wild carriage ride and leaving him all too eager to get back in the saddle… Leannah would sacrifice everything to protect her family. So upon hearing of her sister’s intended elopement, she races across London to stop the ill-advised ceremony before it can happen. However, when her mad journey picks her up an unlikely stowaway, one who ignites her desire beyond all reason, she’s the one who ends up hastily wedding a handsome and secretive stranger. But as Leannah and Harry immediately encounter opposition, jealousy, and suspicion of their hurried nuptials, they begin to doubt that their unquenchable passion can truly lead to a happy marriage—especially when both the bride and groom have devastating secrets to hide… ~"Scintillating" --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Best Books