1927 Formerly in the possession of and used by Napoleon. Rendered into the English Language by H. Kirchenhoffer from a German translation of and Ancient Egyptian Manuscript found in the year 1801, by M. Sonnini in one of the royal tombs near Mt. Libycus.
'In six minutes, one of us would be dead. None of us knew it was coming . . .' So says Wes Holloway, a once cocky and ambitious presidential aide, about the day that changed his life forever. On that Fourth of July, Wes put the chief executive’s oldest friend into the presidential limousine. By the time the trip came to an end minutes later, Wes was permanently disfigured, and Ron Boyle was dead, the victim of a crazed assassin. Eight years later, Boyle is spotted, alive and well, in Malaysia. In that moment, Wes has the chance to undo the worst day of his life. Trying to figure out what really happened takes Wes back to a decade-old presidential crossword puzzle, mysterious facts buried in Masonic history, and a code invented by Thomas Jefferson two hundred years ago. But what Wes doesn’t realise is that The Book of Fate holds everyone’s secrets. Especially the ones worth dying for . . .
A teenager in pre-revolutionary Tehran, Massoumeh is an ordinary girl, passionate about learning. On her way to school she meets a local man and falls in love - but when her family discover his letters they accuse her of bringing them into dishonour. She is badly beaten by her brother, and her parents hastily arrange a marriage to a man she's never met. Facing a life without love, and the prospect of no education, Massoumeh is distraught - but a female neighbour urges her to comply: 'We each have a destiny, and you can't fight yours.' The years that follow Massoumeh's wedding prove transformative for Iran. Hamid, Massoumeh's husband, is a political dissident and a threat to the Shah's oppressive regime and when the secret service arrive to arrest him, it is the start of a terrifying period for Massoumeh. Her fate, so long dictated by family loyalty and tradition, is now tied to the changing fortunes of her country. Spanning five turbulent decades of Iranian history, from before the 1979 revolution, through the Islamic Republic and up to the present, The Book of Fate is a powerful story of friendship and passion, fear and hope - and a rare insider's view of Iranian society.
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. To ensure a quality reading experience, this work has been proofread and republished using a format that seamlessly blends the original graphical elements with text in an easy-to-read typeface. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Enlightenment philosopher Voltaire's novel Zadig, or The Book of Fate skillfully weaves the story of its ancient Babylonian philosopher. Not trying for adherence to history, Voltaire's story is full of thinly veiled references to the social and political issues his own time. This appropriately philosophical work holds up human life as being led by destiny beyond our control. The moral transformations that take place within Zadig tell of overturning orthodoxy in religion and in metaphysical beliefs. After Candide, this is said by many to be Voltaire's greatest work.
Delve into the stories from Amy Tan's life that inspired bestselling novels like The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement and the new memoir, Where the Past Begins Amy Tan has touched millions of readers with haunting and sympathetic novels of cultural complexity and profound empathy. With the same spirit and humor that characterize her acclaimed novels, she now shares her insight into her own life and how she escaped the curses of her past to make a future of her own. She takes us on a journey from her childhood of tragedy and comedy to the present day and her arrival as one of the world's best-loved novelists. Whether recalling arguments with her mother in suburban California or introducing us to the ghosts that inhabit her computer, The Opposite of Fate offers vivid portraits of choices, attitudes, charms, and luck in action--a refreshing antidote to the world-weariness and uncertainties we all face today.
Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother--and their kingdom--in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons. In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret. But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants--and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.
The Ten of ClubsDenotes great riches to come speedily from an unexpected source; but also threatens that you will at the same time lose some very dear friend.On the Nails of the FingersBroad nails show the person to be bashful, fearful, but of gentle nature. Queries About Fortunate DaysFair Venus Friday does approve, And on that day prosper love. This "Book of Fate" is said to be a perfect facsimile of the one used by Napoleon, and was supposedly consulted by him on every important occasion. It permits fortune telling by dice; fortunate and unfortunate days; behaviors; the lines and forms of the face, hair, and eyes; as well as fortune telling by cards, palms, and coffee grounds in a cup. Last but not least, it provides spells, charms, and incantations, as well as signs of a speedy marriage, and ways to choose good husbands and wives. The book admonishes Napoleon for not following its advice more closely: "Happy had it been for him had he abided or been ruled by the answers of this Oracle."
Lottos Charme bezwingt jeden, Mathildes Schönheit wirft ein Schimmern an jede Wand. Sie lieben und begehren einander, sie heiraten, ziehen nach New York. Ihre Partys sind legendär, und irgendwann feiert Lotto Triumphe als Dramatiker. Ist das glückliche Fügung, oder lenkt hier jemand mit kühlem Verstand die Geschicke? Ahnt Lotto, welchen Zorn Mathilde hinter ihrem Lächeln verbirgt? In einer vor Energie pulsierenden Sprache entwirft Lauren Groff das Bild einer Ehe, hinter deren Glanz sich schleichend etwas Dunkleres offenbart. Denn die Geschichte von Lotto und Mathilde kann auch ganz anders erzählt werden.
Just as the face is the index of the mind, the palm is the index of one's future. Palmistry is a fascinating science of knowing the future by reading the lines on the palm. It has been proved that the lines on the hand have a normal and natural position, just as the nose or the eyes on the face. The slightest deviation, break or curve from the normal denotes unusual qualities or tendencies. With full knowledge of these qualities or tendencies, proper precautions can be taken. A reasoned interpretation of the lines of the hand can produce a complete and an accurate assessment of the temperament, health, love, romance, and marriage, travel and fortune. This complete, unabridged and authorized edition of Cheiro's practical handbook has long been accepted as the classic of palmistry.

Best Books