Designed specially for lower-ability pupils at Key Stage 3, this is one of four packs for use as part of the Key Geography series in a mixed-ability classroom. They are also suitable for use in conjunction with any Key Stage 3 textbook series to support pupils who, for whatever reason, find the traditional geography textbook too demanding.
Teachers will save valuable time through the use of suggested activities, assessment notes, mark schemes and teaching ideas. Teachers will benefit from further advice on developing an enquiry-based approach, assisting pupils with Special Educational Needs and incorporating cross-circular themes. Pupils will learn vital IT skills through the use of worksheets demonstrating how electronic media can be used to support their geographical studies.
This is Geography is a major new course for Key Stage 3 Geography aiming to raise standards of teaching and learning. It offers: - Less content, more learning - a streamlined scheme of work which focuses on the essentials and which therefore allows teachers to do in-depth work on real world topics that really matter to pupils - Worthwhile and significant tasks - every unit builds, step by step, towards an engaging and significant final task. These tasks use the full range of learning styles to provide something for all pupils. The associated Teachers Resource Book, available in print and as a CD, supports this Pupil`s Book with lesson plans and differentiated worksheets - for homework and class work. The lesson plans and worksheets are also provided on CD for you to edit and customise.
Providing a course for Key Stage 3 and GCSE Geography, this flexible series is designed for pupils of differing abilities and working at different levels. It incorporates a broad range of teaching and learning methods, and each of the pupils' books is accompanied by a teacher's resource guide.
place above teaching history>
Explores how pupils experience and think about geography as a school subject.
A series of photocopiable activity files that provide opportunities to help develop active learning and critical thinking skills.
Less able pupils will find Basics easily accessible and will develop their literacy skill as a result of a carefully monitored language level.Teachers will benefit from clear references to the current National Curriculum requirements.Basics is a cost-effective resource, equally useful in both smaller groups and the mixed-ability classroom.Teachers will find Basics fits easily into established schemes of work through strong links with existing Key Geography books.Pupils will improve skills and knowledge through spiral progression, revisiting and reinforcing topics and skills.
A series of photocopiable activity files that provide opportunities to help develop active learning and critical thinking skills.
Includes guidance notes for assessing student's achievement and essential key skills. Worksheets are designed to extend the ideas introduced in the students book. Provides exercises for all abilities with levels of answers differentiated. Accompanying website allows teachers and students to have easy access to further information on the topics covered in the series.
This lively, thought-provoking edited collection is packed full of practical ideas for teachers looking to foster a creative primary classroom. It will also make its readers reflect on how creativity and geography intersect in children’s lives and why creativity is vital in sustaining all our futures. Professor Anna Craft, University of Exeter and The Open University, UK. Teaching Geography Creatively offers an innovative approach to geography education in the primary classroom, and is crammed full of practical approaches for bringing the teaching of geography to life. With ideas for exploring physical geography, human geography and environmental issues, it is a stimulating and enjoyable source of inspiration for all training and experienced teachers. Underpinned by the latest research and theory and with contemporary, cutting-edge practice at the forefront, expert authors from schools and universities explore the inter-relationship between creativity and learning and how creativity can enhance pupils’ motivation, self-image and well-being. The importance of equipping children for a rapidly changing environment and the need to place learning in a values context are also stressed. Imaginative ideas for teaching in geography include: games and starter activities as entry points for creative learning; learning about the environment and sustainability through problem solving; linking geography with art, music and mathematics; using the local area for map work, history and ICT; new approaches to fieldwork, playful learning and outdoor work; exploring ‘messy learning’ and real world events. With an emphasis on promoting creativity as a key element to developing young children’s knowledge, understanding and enjoyment, Teaching Geography Creatively offers a range of practical strategies to enable teachers to take a fresh approach to geography teaching.
Following on from the hugely successful Start-Up Geography, Step-Up Geography has been created specifically to support the schemes of work in the Geography Curriculum at KS2 - the next step up! Highly illustrated with colour photographs and diagrams, each spread addresses a particular topic. Text is clear and divided into easily digestible paragraphs, whilst key words are highlighted. Suggestion boxes throughout each book provide activities and tips for the reader, whilst a spread at the back for teachers and parents provides more activity suggestions and advice on how to use the book with children. Every book provides enough material to last forever!
Whether a novice or a seasoned surfer, this practical, down-to-earth and straightforward guide should help readers to get to grips with the Internet in all aspects of teaching. It offers practical suggestions for improving the use of the Internet, online resources and ICT in teaching and planning.
Emphasizes on the acquisition of skills, gathering and evaluating evidence and drawing conclusions, and making learning fun for the young geographer. This work meets the requirements of the National Curriculum and the QCA Scheme of Work and is correlated to the Scottish 5-14 Guidelines.
This volume presents the first comparative analysis of racial attitudes in the formal schooling of both Britain and its former dominions and colonies. The various contributions examine the issue right across the British imperial experience – with case studies ranging from Canada, Ireland, East and South Africa, through the Indian subcontinent to Australia and New Zealand. Racial indoctrination is considered from the perspective of both colonizer and colonized. The central theme throughout is that a racial hierarchy was taught through both curriculum and text in schools throughout the former British Empire.
The incorrigible children of Ashton Place are especially naughty, but they can't help it: They were raised by wolves. Now that they've been adopted by an English lord and lady, adjusting to a genteel life won't be easy, even with a mysterious young governess to teach them about everything from French to forks. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place books have been named a Kirkus Best Book for Children, placed on the Kids' Indie Next List, and chosen as Chicago Public Library Best of the Best. Together for the first time, this collection includes: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II: The Hidden Gallery The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book III: The Unseen Guest

Best Books