After tragedy, her life takes an unexpected turn. Can she ever hope for happiness? In Beyond the Sunset, Margaret Thornton writes a delightful historical saga set in Victorian Blackpool. Perfect for fans Sheila Newberry and Margaret Dickinson. 'This flowing novel by a Blackpool-born author interlaces cruelty and great passion in the story of a gipsy's curse' - Coventy Evening Telegraph Before Molly Rimmer loses her parents in 1897, her future had seemed full of promise. Through her dream to own a shop in exclusive Jubilee Terrace in Blackpool and her budding relationship with charming gentleman, Joss, Molly hoped to raise herself above the poverty she was born into. But now Molly must take responsibility for her siblings and leave her ambitions, and, Joss, behind. She marries Hector Stubbins, leading light of the local Methodist church, searching for love and security. But Hector is not the man he first appears to be. Will Molly ever be able to find the happiness that once seemed to be within her grasp? What readers are saying about Margaret Thornton: '[Margaret Thornton is] one of those writers with a sure skill in creating characters who become real to the reader. Indeed, so much so that they seem to leap out of the pages and make the story of which they're a part even more compelling' 'Margaret Thornton is a brilliant storyteller. Her books draw you in, so you feel you know the characters. Hard to put down' 'Five stars'
Victoria Slaughter was a strong willed young woman. She knew what she wanted in a husband and it wasn’t going to be a prearranged marriage as her parents had. When the Civil War looms near, her father has to take matters into his own hands. In comes Zane Camden, a hard-working, handsome shipping magnate from Boston. Victoria immediately turned her back on him. Could he win her over? Would her father force her hand? Would the Civil War change things forever at Magnolia Hill Plantation?
This book highlights the strategic deployment of a straight identity by an LGBT organization. Cortese explores the ways in which activists strategically use a "straight" identity as a social movement tool in order to successfully achieve the movement objectives.
Sammy was the sharp one of the Adams family.Since he was nine-years-old - when he'd charged his mother interest on a loan to make up the rent money - he'd been busy setting up deals and expanding the family business - a china stall in East Street market. But as his mighty empire grew - two shops and a factory in Shoreditch - so did the determination of his assistant, Susie Brown. Susie adored Sammy - although she thought he needed a bit of work done on him, a few rough spots knocked off - and she had decided, quite early on, that Sammy was going to marry her.But Sammy, rapidly becoming the King of Camberwell, and dreading that marriage was going to cost him money, decided to put up a fight.It was a battle he hadn't a hope of winning - especially when all the rest of the Adams family were on Susie's side. Here again are all the magnificent characters from Down Lambeth Way and Our Emily - Chinese Lady, keeping her family in order and contemplating matrimony for the second time.Emily and Boots, facing a serious rift in their marriage - a rift not helped by the hovering Polly Sims.Tommy, daring to woo Cousin Vi when he 'wasn't quite good enough for her', and Sammy, pulling his wonderful Walworth family into the good times at last.
It is a cold night and Sylvie Dugdale is weeping as she walks by the Mersey. A figure approaches and, dodging aside to avoid him, she falls into the river. Constable Brendan O'Hara, just coming off duty, sees the girl's plight and dives in to rescue her. He is dazzled by her beauty but Sylvie's husband is in prison and the closeness that Brendan soon longs for is impossible. Sylvie has to escape from Liverpool, so Brendan arranges for her to stay with his cousin Caitlin in Dublin until it is safe to return. There she meets Maeve, a crippled girl from the slums, who will change all their lives when a little girl is lost ...
Faced with a new chance at love, can she leave the past behind her? June Tate's No One Promised Me Tomorrow, the gripping sequel to Riches of the Heart, finds Lily risking everything in order to protect the person she loves most: her daughter. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Cathy Sharp. Since she found herself alone with a young daughter, Lily Pickford has devoted her life to ensuring that little Victoria has everything Lily lacked in her own childhood. But now a recession has cast a shadow over Lily's business in the Southampton docklands. When she risks everything to save the day, she finds herself separated from Victoria and facing a prison sentence for a crime she didn't commit. It'll be a tough battle to get Victoria back, and a fierce struggle to put food in their mouths. But Lily's a fighter, though she has given up on romance; she's forgotten what it's like to be touched by a man. Yet when Luke Longford turns his heart-stopping smile her way, old feelings resurface, and Lily realises she's still vulnerable. Is she ready for love? And is Luke man enough to accept Lily for what she is - and for everything she has been in her secret past? What readers are saying about No One Promised Me Tomorrow: 'Another great story from June Tate, all her books have the right amount of sorrow, intrigue and romance' 'Couldn't put this book down' 'Five stars'
Abandoned and alone, this is the unforgettable tale of one woman's search for happiness. Riches of the Heart by June Tate is a moving saga of one woman's encounters with poverty, tragedy and her chance for happiness. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale. '[Lily's] struggle to find happiness again makes this gritty saga compulsive reading' - Woman's Weekly Lily Pickford is just sixteen when her violent father throws her out of the house. Her first few nights are spent sleeping rough in Southampton's sleazy docklands, but her luck turns when stallholder Rachel Cohen gives her work and a place to stay where she regularly encounters Vittorio Teglia, a local villain who desires her. Her happiness is complete when she meets Tom McCann, a wild Irishman who only has eyes for Lily. When Lily is tragically forced to walk away from her new life, she is driven to the streets and prostitution, dreading the day that Tom discovers what she's become. A day that dawns all too soon... What readers are saying about Riches of the Heart: 'I love this storyline, the details of the old days, and the interesting characters' 'One of the best books l have ever read' 'Absolutely wonderful - five stars' Don't miss the heart-stopping sequel: No One Promised Me Tomorrow
In late-19th-century coastal Essex physician-turned-novelist Dr. Richard Wilde is taking a holiday in the country to escape the pressures of London life. A fortuitous accident leads to him meeting a beautiful 18-year-old local girl, Bessie Cable, with whom he keenly pursues a platonic relationship as he sees in her the model for the heroine of his next novel. Bessie’s long-time love, the ignorant farmhand Tom Spiggins, does not, however, take kindly to the doctor’s interest in his girl. As jealousy takes hold of Tom and old passions reawaken some lost threads of his family history, the potential for conflict between Tom and the doctor begins to loom large.  Inspired by the Rev. Sabine Baring-Gould’s classic Essex marshland novel Mehalah, The Blackwater Saga is written in the traditional romantic style of Victorian novels. Its author, Ian Yearsley, draws heavily on his background as an Essex historian to set the action in the fictional village of Loriston, on the north shore of the River Blackwater between Maldon and Tollesbury, where the atmosphere and the story of a classic love triangle both come alive through the gentle geography of a rural riverside village.
She’s hiding a dark secret. It already killed her once. Victoria can’t wait to start college, but there’s a hitch—she can’t remember anything before arriving on campus. Her memories finally spark when she sees her ruggedly handsome math professor, but she senses something terrible happened. The shock on his face affirms her fears. Toby is an alpha wolf who never thought he’d see his true love again—not after she died in his arms. Nothing could have prepared him for her walking into his class. But to his dismay, not only has she forgotten the past, she doesn’t even know who she is. He’s determined to do whatever it takes to restore what they’ve lost. Can Toby help Victoria recover her memories, or will he lose her forever? USA Today bestselling author, Stacy Claflin, brings you Lost Wolf, the first book in the Curse of the Moon series. It’s a paranormal romantic suspense saga that features gripping supernatural drama, surprising twists, dynamic characters, and heart-pounding romance. Read Lost Wolf today to satisfy your craving for a fast-paced paranormal tale.
On a beautiful spring morning in 2004, Brian Foutz heard a car door slam shut in his driveway. He walked to his window, expecting to see his daughter, Victoria, returning from an overnight stay with a friend. Instead he saw two officers from the county sheriff's office. The officers were coming to deliver news that would change Brian's life forever. Once inside, the officers told Brian that his daughter wouldn't be coming home. At only eighteen years old, Victoria had been shot in the head and killed. From Misery to Ministry is the story of how Brian and his wife, Leah, find the strength to overcome the loss of their daughter. Brian and Leah offer a moving, intimate account of Victoria's funeral, the trial of her accused killers, and their efforts to find meaning after the grief and heartbreak caused by their daughter's death. With advice on dealing with sudden rushes of emotion, seeking professional counsel, and maintaining a loving marriage in the face of the darkest of tragedies, From Misery to Ministry is a powerful tool for any family that has lost a loved one. Brian and Leah bless all readers with their honesty, their vulnerability, and their message of hope.
A line of nervous young women got off a ship in Victoria Harbour in 1862 and had to walk the gauntlet between two rows of jostling, eager men. One girl, proposed to on the spot, accepted equally quickly and left town with her new husband. Why did these women leave everything behind in England and come to the west coast? The answers lie in the lusty turmoil of a gold-rush frontier, the horrible disruptions of industrial England and the conflicting aims of earnest Christians and early British feminists.
The Diary of a Pissed Off Mom is just that. Follow me through my journey of motherhood. My story is of a young woman becoming a mother, growing with children and a husband. I share with you the joys, sorrows, trials and tribulations of all that goes with parenting. I am sharing with you the reality of the And They All Lived Happily Ever After .. The truth is, that fairy tale idealism is a load of bullcaca. I didn t realize how difficult marriage and children were. Over the years I have developed my diary not just for them to know who their mother was, but what it was like raising them. Once the teenage years arrived all preconceived thoughts and ideas of parenting strategies went right out the window. I have elaborated on events to add perspective and enlightenment to you, the reader. My wish is to help other parents realize that if you stay true to your beliefs and keep love in your heart, anything can be overcome.

Best Books